The Great Shirataki Experiment

I’ve read dozens of posts on other food blogs raving about Tofu Shirataki noodles. So when I spotted a small package in the store this afternoon, I thought, “What the heck – I’ll give ’em a try.” My husband wasn’t going to be home for dinner anyway, so I figured it was a great time to try them without subjecting him to something he may not like. I decided to use my tofu noodles to make a simple chicken stirfry with broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, onions, soy sauce, and ginger.

Blog 008

The verdict: so-so. I didn’t love them; didn’t hate them either. It’s not a matter of taste – they taste like whatever you put them on. Rather, it came down to texture for me. They were quite rubbery. I have food-texture issues. So I ate about half the package of noodles (which is technically 1 serving – only 20 cal, 3g carb) and picked out the chicken and vegetables.

Now let me backtrack to lunch… I ate a leftover turkey burger from last night on a whole wheat wrap with light mayo, mustard, spinach, and red onion.

Blog 007

This wrap wasn’t quite enough to contain the burger!

Snacks this afternoon included a small apple, a small banana, a peach applesauce, a few raisins, some cantaloupe, and a handful of almonds.

Blog 006

I had to take my daughter to the doctor for some shots today and now she’s pretty fussy after bring poked and prodded. So, the exercise hasn’t happened…yet. I had an early dinner so I’m hoping I can digest my food while I give the baby a bath and then maybe get some bike time in after that – provided she feels like entertaining herself in her bouncy seat for a while. I’m not holding my breath! I don’t feel too bad though. I’ve exercised everyday for the last week and a half. Hopefully I can squeeze in a little extra tomorrow.

Update: The baby allowed me a full 40 minutes on my Spinning bike! I think she could tell mommy needed to workout some tension. I feel great now!

Leave a Reply

