Oh Oats – I Missed You!

I enjoy a variety breakfast foods, but I don’t love anything as much as I love oats! When I go a day without my big morning bowl of oatmeal, I miss it. So back to my oats this morning. I think they hit the spot even more when I haven’t had them the day before. This morning I made my oats with 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of Silk Light vanilla soymilk. I mixed in some ground flaxseed and topped it with another 1/2 cup of Silk.

Blog 009

For my protein, I mixed 1/4 cup of egg whites with 1 whole egg and scrambled it. This photographs much better than just straight egg whites on my white plate!

Blog 010

I also had a small banana, but, as usual, it didn’t make it into the picture. I wolfed it down as soon as I got into the kitchen this morning. I was starving since my Shirataki stirfry dinner wasn’t as good as I expected last night and I didn’t eat it all. I think I’ll be less adventurous with my dinner tonight and stick to something I know I enjoy! I did end up having a sweet treat after dinner last night though. My husband came home from work with a little brownie from Chick-fil-A (not very gourmet, but hey – it’s still a brownie!). We split it…and boy am I glad we did. The size is deceiving. I went on Chick-fil-A’s website after we polished off the brownie and discovered that the little guy packs a whopping 370 calories and 28 g of sugar! I kid you not, the round brownie was small enough to fit in the palm of my hand!

Today is my Jackie Warner workout video day. What I love most about this video is that it is split into 3 20 minute segments. Perfect for new moms like me! I can do a segment, then go feed the baby and whatnot, and then get back to my video.

Hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

