Snacks, Snacks, and More Snacks!

Today was one of those days where I just couldn’t seem to fill up my belly! I snacked…A LOT! Granted, they were all healthy snacks, but I felt like I was constantly eating.

Morning snacks included almonds, a small golden delicious apple, and a handful of Cheerios.

Blog 001

For lunch, I cut up a leftover grilled lemon pepper chicken breast from last night. I put it in a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla with Tribe organic roasted red pepper hummus and fresh spinach.

Blog 002

I also had an overripe banana (my favorite!!).

Blog 003

Afternoon snacks included a peach Motts Healthy Harvest applesauce, a slice of Food for Life 7 Sprouted Grain bread with some Earth Balance spread, another golden delicious apple, and a half cup of Fiber One with about a half cup of Silk Light Vanilla soymilk.

Blog 004

I attempted to get in a ride on my Spinning bike this afternoon. I got about 13 minutes into my ride when the baby decided she had had enough of her bouncy seat…

For dinner, I made Fiesta Turkey Salads (I thought that sounded a lot more exciting than Turkey Taco Salads :-D) I made a special trip to the store just to get an avocado. I had a hunger headache all day (despite the ungodly amount of snacks) and I’m pretty sure it was because I hadn’t had enough fat. The half avocado on my salad added a good amount of healthy fat and really boosted the staying power of my dinner.

Blog 005

For the two salads, I used:

  • 1/2 lb of extra lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 packet of low sodium taco spice
  • chopped romaine lettuce
  • roma tomatoes
  • red onion
  • salsa
  • avocado

Quick to make and quick to clean up! Perfect, since I had a fussy baby on my hands all afternoon. In fact, I cooked dinner while carrying the baby in the Baby Bjorn! She just wanted to be held, so that allowed me to be hands-free.

After dinner, I got an additional 30 minutes in on my bike. A post-dinner ride wasn’t the best idea digestion-wise, but I have to take whatever time I can get! Now I’m off to do some core work in the living room so I can at least see my husband for a little bit. Always multi-tasking! 😉

Leave a Reply

