Bottomless Pit (and Giveaway News)

My stomach has been like a bottomless pit these last couple days! All the food that I eat seems to be disappear into some sort of black hole in my stomach…

I guess between the breastfeeding and the exercise I must really be torching some calories!

This morning, I snacked on a small apple and a smoothie. The kitchen is getting a little empty so I threw in what I had: my last half cup of Silk Light Vanilla soymilk, a tbs of soy protein powder, some unsweetened cocoa powder (I didn’t measure), a small, overripe banana, and some unsalted, dry roasted peanuts.

Blog 009

 Blog 010

Blog 011

For lunch, I made a pretty plain chicken salad – just chicken and a little bit of light mayo. I put it between two slices of Food for Life 7 Sprouted Grain bread with some spinach and pickles.

Blog 012

Blog 013

I also had an applesauce and half of a Fuze Slenderize Strawberry Melon. I love these! They taste great and they only have 10 calories and 2g of sugar per serving. Plus they’re loaded with antioxidants.

Blog 014

There was a brief period of time when the sun came out this afternoon so I took advantage of it. I loaded the baby in the stroller and went for a 40-minute walk. I was only able to fit in one of the 20 minute segments of my Jackie Warner DVD later in the afternoon. That’s ok – I’m always up by 6 on Saturday morning, so I’ll do the rest then.

After my walk, I threw some more food into the bottomless pit – another small apple, a few Mary’s Gone Crackers, and a spinach salad with balsamic vinegar.

Blog 015

Dinner tonight was quick, easy, and delicious – baked chicken and roasted asparagus. I loooove to roast asparagus in the oven. I put the spears in a plastic bag with some olive oil and shake it up to coat them. Then I place them on a baking sheet and sprinkle on some salt and pepper. Bake at 400 until the tops are crispy. YUM! I link to think of them as “asparagus fries.” 😀

Blog

While I was out at the store getting the asparagus for dinner, I picked up some oat bran. I have to confess – I’ve never eaten oat bran before. I always eat oatmeal. I’m looking forward to my first bowl tomorrow!

***Be sure to check out the Pure Inventions giveaway over at Fit Eats!***

***Also check out the Sonny & Joe’s Hummus giveaway at Sarah is Healthy!***

2 responses to “Bottomless Pit (and Giveaway News)

  1. Crunchy asparagus sounds yummy. That was a nice looking dinner!
    http://islandgirleats.blogspot.com

  2. I am going to try the aspargus “recipe” soon, sounds great. I love the idea of using a bag to get the oil on them, they don’t toss very well. as for the oat bran, I love it, sometimes straight, sometimes added to old fashioned oats or steel cut, Irish oats. I also add to homemade wheat bread (sourdough) when i bake.

Leave a Reply

