Super Splurge Saturday!

Wow…what a day! I really went all out.

First, I had my hair cut for the first time in about 5 months! I felt so spoiled being able to leave the house by myself for an hour and get beautified! 😀

After, my trip to the salon (which is about a 60 second drive from my house…would’ve walked if it wasn’t raining), we did our usual Saturday thing: Target and then the supermarket.

When we got home, I fixed myself a nice La Tortilla Factory whole wheat wrap (my favorite!) filled with honey smoked turkey, light mayo, pickles, and loads of spinach!

Warning: Besides the fact that I am clearly not the world’s best photographer, my camera seemed to only want to take blurry pics today…

blog 015

I also had a sliced apple with a tablespoon of Smucker’s Natural Peanut Butter. I love this stuff because it only has 2 ingredients: peanuts and salt. It does require a lot of stirring though because all the oil settles at the top. And it has to be kept in the fridge.

blog 011

blog 010

After lunch, we loaded the baby in the car and went to the mall. I had a $50 gift card I got for Mother’s Day and I spent the whole thing at Borders. I bought 2 nutrition/diet books and 2 new workout DVDs: Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and Biggest Loser Boot Camp. I’ve enjoyed my Jackie Warner video, but I’ve been doing it for about 6 weeks so I think it’s time to switch things up to keep my muscles guessing.

blog 014

I’m going back and forth as to which one I’m going to start this week. I’m thinking 30 Day Shred…

While we were out, I stopped in at Natural Grocers. I pass this store all the time, but I had never been in. There’s a Whole Foods right near there, so usually I make a stop in there instead. Well let me tell you…I have found a new favorite store! It’s much smaller than Whole Foods, but they have a surprisingly great selection and very reasonable prices. I bought 2 lbs of almonds for under $8! Amazing. I also picked up a Whole Soy & Co. vanilla yogurt to try. I really enjoyed it! I would definitely buy more of these. They were only 89 cents, same price as a regular yogurt.

On to our big dinner out… For my husband’s birthday (which is actually tomorrow), we went to a Mexican place downtown. We started with (way too many) tortilla chips with salsa and guacamole. The guac was just ok; certainly not the best I’ve had…and definitely not as good as my guac!!  😉 I ordered a chicken and mango salad which had red onion, tomato, and toasted pumpkin seeds on it. I got the chipotle dressing on the side. It was excellent! So glad I got the dressing on the side though…they gave me about 1/4 cup of dressing and I didn’t even use half. I can’t imagine if they had poured all of it onto my salad. I had a nice Corona Light to go with it.

Unfortunately I left my camera in the car, so no pics of our fabulous dinner.

I did mention to the waitress though that it was my husband’s birthday, so we got to pick out a free dessert. We went with the Grande Chocolate Cake which, according to the menu, was “enough for at least 2.” When it arrived at the table it looked for like it was enough for 4! I totally splurged on this one though. It was too good to pass up. It was 4 layers – yes 4! – of chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and mini chocolate chips. HOLY CHOCOLATE! Between the 2 of us, we at half of it. Here’s what it looked liked after we’d eaten some…

blog 012

*Note: Since we’ve been home, I’ve already indulged in a few more forkfulls… This is why I don’t usually keep sweets in the house! No restraint! Who knows when we’ll make it out to dinner again though…I had to go all out. Back on the wagon tomorrow…

Well, needless to say, I had a great Saturday! Hope you did too. Me and my belly full of chocolate are off to bed! 🙂

2 responses to “Super Splurge Saturday!

  1. I always ask for the dressing on the side when we go out. And it’s a good thing, as it is always a bucket full of dressing that they bring! I always think ‘who would eat all of that’? But that is how a salad can turn from a healthy option into a fattening one.
    http://islandgirleats.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

