Food, Glorious Food!

I had such an assortment of foods and flavors today! I enjoyed some of my usuals, but a few things out of the ordinary too.

Let me start with morning snacks… Breakfast was at 5:30am, so around 8:30 the tummy rumbling started. I had a small golden delicious apple.

I was so eager to eat this, I took a few big bites before I snapped the pic!

I was so eager to eat this, I took a few big bites before I snapped the pic!

Then I made a tasty smoothie. New combination: 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, one small banana, some unsweetened cocoa powder, a tbs of all natural peanut butter, and some ice. Deeeelish!! 😀

blog 035

Soooo creamy!

Soooo creamy!

Before I had lunch, I shredded with Jillian Michaels. Is it possible for my arms to be more defined after 3 days?? I already feel like they are! Jillian kicks my butt! Although, I have to admit I find her a little annoying…

I also did the 20 minute ab segment of my Jackie Warner workout DVD. I’m hoping maybe if I keep up with her ab segment that abs will eventually look half as good as hers! 😛

Anyway, back to my food. Lunch was a random assortment of things. I had some chicken salad made with 1/2 tbs of light mayo, one of my most favorite whole wheat wraps, and a portabella Gardenburger with mustard. I forgot how much I loved these!

blog 037

I also had an applesauce for “dessert.”

blog 038

Afternoon snacks included 12 almonds and 4 sliced strawberries…

blog 039

…a deliciously juicy red pear…

It literally dripped when I bit into it! YUM!!

It literally dripped when I bit into it! YUM!!

…and 1/2 of a Berry Almond Luna Bar. (Sorry, my picture didn’t come out.) I had never had this flavor before. It was amazing! Usually I go for the chocolate flavored bars (LOVE the Chocolate Raspberry and the Nutz Over Chocolate), but this was a nice change. It wasn’t overly sweet.

I got 15 minutes in on my bike this afternoon before the baby started to fuss. Not too shabby I suppose.

I had planned to make turkey burgers for dinner, but I wanted to spice them up a bit. They can be a bit bland. I added the last tbs or so of my stepmom’s homemade barbecue sauce to the ground turkey meat and grilled the burgers on the Foreman Grill. AMAZING!! She makes the world’s best barbecue sauce. These burgers were a little sweet and a lot spicy. I enjoyed them so much more than my usual burgers. I am going to have to get the recipe for that sauce!

blog 041

blog 042

I rounded out my meal with a heaping pile of grean beans.

blog 043

This tasted just as good, if not better, than it looked!

This tasted just as good, if not better, than it looked!

Much as I enjoyed my meal, I did suffer from a little bit of dinner plate envy again tonight… I topped my husbands burger with melted cheddar (mmmm!) and piled the leftover Annie’s Shells and White Cheddar onto his plate. I’m seriously missing dairy. 😦

After dinner I got in about 15 more minutes on the bike. Again, not the best idea digestion wise, but I’ll take whatever time I can get whenever I can get it!

As usual, I’m already thinking ahead to breakfast… Night! 😉

2 responses to “Food, Glorious Food!

  1. Jillian can get a bit annoying! I sometimes put on my ipod to blank her out!
    http://islandgirleats.blogspot.com

Leave a comment