Looks Can Be Deceiving

Words cannot describe how full I am after the breakfast I ate this morning! Believe it or not, my breakfast did not contain oats or eggs today! (Shocking, I know.)

I had 2 toasted pieces of Food for Life 7 Sprouted Grain bread spread with 1 packet (2 tbs) of Justin’s Classic Almond Butter and topped with a few raisins. (Several more raisins may or may not have made their way into my mouth while I was making my toast. ;-))

blog 056

blog 058

I also made a yummy protein smoothie to go with my toast: 1 packet of Jay Robb’s chocolate flavored egg white protein powder (I’m loving this stuff!), 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, one large banana, and 3 ice cubes. A tasty, cool way to start the day!

blog 057

blog 059

blog 060

This breakfast is deceiving… It looks smaller and lighter than my usual ginormous bowl of oats with banana and eggs. However, this breakfast actually packed more calories than my typical breakfast (it was about 600+ calories total). It was quite nutritionally balanced though – about 50% carbs, 20% protein, and 30% fat. In case you haven’t picked up on it yet, I tend to eat a very large, calorie-dense breakfast and then my meals and snacks get lighter as the day goes on. It gets me going for the day and helps me avoid going to bed with an overly full tummy (with the exception of last night…but I think I just ate too fast!).

Today’s weather is going to be similar to yesterday’s – 75 and sunny early in the day, and then dark and possibly stormy in the afternoon. We’re going to try to get a good walk/hike in before the clouds roll in.

Enjoy your Sunday! (Ugh…that means tomorrow is Monday again already. :-()

One response to “Looks Can Be Deceiving

  1. I spy Mr. Sexy Hot and his busting biceps!! I like the sounds of that breakfast! Enjoy the sunshine while it’s there!

Leave a Reply

