To Market, To Market

I went to the new natural foods store – Sunflower Farmers Market– this afternoon. They’re not kidding when they say they have “serious food…silly prices!” I spent $38 and, according to my receipt, I saved $19.77 buying things on sale! WOW! I got the mother load of produce!

Here’s my loot:

Blog 009

  • Family pack of chicken breasts (not pictured) – $1.47/lb!! HUGE savings.
  • Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze – 2 for $3 (sale)
  • Bag of spinach – $1.99 regular price (this beats the regular supermarket price!)
  • Odwalla Super Protein Bar – $.89 (sale)
  • Decaf coffee – $4.99 (sale)
  • Luna Bar – $1.19 (sale)
  • Avocados – $.77 each (sale)
  • Bananas – $.41/lb regular price (also cheaper than the supermarket)
  • Red leaf lettuce – $.88 (sale)
  • Speaghetti squash – $.77/lb regular price (better than the supermarket)
  • Baby carrots – $.88/lb (sale)
  • Bell peppers – $.88 each (sale)
  • Green grapes – $1.77/lb (sale)
  • Blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries – 2 for $4 (sale)

I essentially got almost $60 worth of groceries for just under $40! I will DEFINITELY be shopping their sale flyer each week. They even have a few things that I usually buy that are cheaper than the supermarket even at regular price. Great store! My only complaint – it was ridiculously crowded!! I imagine that will die down.

Food

Here’s a quick recap of today’s eats…

Morning snacks: a macintosh apple, half a kiwi, and my “mock-late milk” (unsweetened vanilla almond milk blended with unsweetened cocoa powder and ice – I was having a chocolate craving!).

Lunch was a simple turkey wrap with light mayo and romaine lettuce and an applesauce.

Blog 001

In the early afternoon, the FedEx man rang the doorbell. My first foodie package! 😀 The nice folks at Sonny and Joe’ssent me TONS of hummus plus some babaganoush to sample. So naturally I dug right in! I tasted each flavor with Mary’s Gone Crackers and some baby carrots. Check back tomorrow for my official review!

This afternoon I also had a few almonds, a handful of Fiber One, and half of an Odwalla Super Protein bar. Never had this before. I liked it a lot! It was sort of like an oatmeal cookie. It had quite a bit of sugar though – 17g.

Blog 010

I had been planning to make turkey burgers for dinner, but after I got home with all my goodies, I made  a quick decision to do chicken fajitas. I grilled some chicken on the Foreman Grill, sprinkled with a mixture of salt, pepper, chili powder, and cumin. I sauteed red, orange, and yellow bell peppers with some garlic, and made what I like to call “Cheater’s Guacamole” – mashed avocado mixed with salsa. I had a whole wheat tortilla too.

Blog 012

Cheater's Guacamole

Cheater's Guacamole

I decided I just had to make a big fruit salad tonight since I sooo much fruit today. So…behold the most beautiful fruit salad ever:

Blog 013

  • Cantaloupe
  • Kiwi
  • Apple
  • Grapes
  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Blackberries
  • My signature splash of OJ

This is easily the best fruit salad I have ever made! (Naturally I had to eat a small bowl of it, just to make sure it came out ok. ;-)) Usually I can’t afford to buy so many different fruits to put into the salad.

Fitness

Today was Day 10 of the Shred. Thank God I’m moving on to Level 2 tomorrow! I’m so bored with Level 1 now. I really see a difference in my arms already though.

After the hubby got home, I went into the basement and pushed through 35 intense, sweat-pouring minutes on my bike. I knew I couldn’t stay away from it today! I think when I’m tired and I tell myself to push through a workout I actually overcompensate and workout harder. Last year, when I taught Spinning classes, my “regulars” always told me they were most afraid of the class whenever I said I was tired or I didn’t feel well! They told me I turned into a machine and pushed them harder too. Funny!

Well…off to put the baby to bed. Wish me a good night’s sleep! 🙂

3 responses to “To Market, To Market

  1. wow girl you went to town! I am jealous 🙂 and those odwalla bars are my favorite!

  2. Oh wow – those prices are BOSS! I’m so jealous.

  3. Great market haul!! Thanks for the Odwalla bar review 🙂

Leave a Reply

