The Shred – Level 2

It was quite a hectic morning today! I jumped off a conference call for work in just enough time to change the baby and get out the door to the doctor. I grabbed a Luna Bar on my way out the door. I was so hungry my hands were shaking! Not good. It had been about 2 hours since I had my little bowl of fruit, but it was pretty obvious I hadn’t quite taken in enough calories by that point.

Blog 017

I love this Nutz Over Chocolate flavor. I’m not big on eating bars with added sugar, but at 9g this bar is relatively guilt-free. 9g is about the maximum amount of added sugar I will consume in one product – and I try not to eat more than one product per day that contains added sugar. That’s why you’ll frequently see me eating 1/2 of a bar (like I did with yesterday’s Odwalla bar, which had a total of 17g of sugar).

When I finally got back from the doctor, I was starving! Unfortunately, so was the baby. Her lunch always comes first. So I fed her and then made myself a chicken salad sandwich with Tyson canned chicken, 1/2 tbs of light mayo, spinach, and red onion on Food for Life 7 Sprouted Grain Bread. (I apologize for the horribly blurry picture to follow. You’ll have to use your imagination.)

Blog 018

I also had a small banana, a few almonds, and some almond milk blended with cocoa powder.

I got pretty busy with work after lunch, so I didn’t snack much this afternoon (totally unusual for me). I just had a few baby carrots dipped in a few different flavors of hummus to refresh my memory for my product review post.

For tonight’s dinner, I made turkey burgers and green beans. My husband is always complaining that turkey burgers are too bland so I’m always looking for new ways to spice them up. Here’s what I used tonight:

  • 1/2 lb extra lean ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup of rolled oats
  • ~1 tbs of egg whites (didn’t measure – just poured in from my bottle of All Whites)
  • onion powder (not measured)
  • pepper (not measured)

They tasted pretty good. I didn’t hear any complaints, so it must have been decent! I topped my burger with mustard, red leaf lettuce, tomato, and red onion.

There really is a turkey burger under there!

There really is a turkey burger under there!

To go with our dinner, I made an AMAZING salad – spinach, red onion, and strawberries! I specifically had my Annie’s Lite Raspberry Vinaigrettein mind when I put this together. What a yummy combination! It was very summery, despite the very un-summery weather we had today (50 and rainy – eeeewwww!).

Blog 019

 I decided to finally take a day off from physical activity – with the exception of the Shred of course! Today was day 11 overall, and day 1 of Level 2. Level 2 is definitely more challenging (duh – otherwise it would be Level 1! ;-)). I really liked the ab moves because I could really feel them when I was done. I consider my abs to be my biggest “problem area” right now. Realistically, their not too bad consider I had a baby 11 weeks ago, but they are definitely no where near what they were last summer. I have to keep reminding myself that it takes a full year for your body to recover from pregnancy. It’s a marathon, not a sprint.

I can’t believe tomorrow is Thursday already! The weeks are just flying by. I’m looking forward to getting a little more rest this weekend – and possibly going to the Manitou Springs Wine Festival on Saturday.

What are your plans for the weekend?

2 responses to “The Shred – Level 2

  1. I never used to like fruit in salad, but now I love it! Keep on shredding – I think I am going to start the 30 Days soon (once I can get my hands on a DVD!).

  2. Way to go with the shred!! I hate having the hunger shakes 😦 I’m hypoglycemic so when that starts to happen it is NEVER good news!

Leave a Reply

