Noshes and Nibbles

Well, today was complete and total justification for why I typically stick to pretty much the same breakfast every morning. As delicious as my French toast was, it really didn’t fill me up at all. I need my usual well-balanced breakfast of oats with nuts and flax, and eggs. Lesson learned. Back to the usual tomorrow for sure.

So needless to say, today was an all day snackfest. Various noshes and nibbles included (but were not limited to):

  • chicken salad made with light mayo
  • a few Mary’s Gone Crackers
  • an apple
  • small La Tortilla Factory tortilla x 2
  • a few raspberries
  • a couple strawberries
  • a glass of unsweetened vanilla almond milk blended with cocoa powder and ice
  • a few almonds

Blog 017

Blog 020

Blog 018

Blog 019

This afternoon I very reluctantly did Level 2 of the Shred. I’m getting less and less enthusiastic about doing it…although I’m definitely seeing great results. So I’ll keep it up!

I knew I wanted to make shrimp for dinner tonight, but I wanted to do a little something different – something other than scampi. I perused the internet and found this recipe for Shrimp Fra Diavolo on the Food Network website. It was perfect because I had all the ingredients (with the exception of fresh basil, for which I substituted dried basil). I cut the recipe down since I was only feeding 2 of us. I cut the oil waaay back. I didn’t measure anything though. I just threw things into the pan and went with it. I think I got a little over excited with the red pepper. SPICY! It was sooooo good though! I served it over about 1/2 serving of organic whole wheat rotini. The 1/2 serving of pasta was perfect because I didn’t feel at all weighed down after dinner.

Blog 021

Blog 022

I had to settle for riding my Spinning bike after dinner tonight. Not my favorite, but like I always say – I’ll take whatever time I can get! I got in a very energetic 35 minute ride.

The baby is in bed earlier than usual tonight, so I’m off to be as productive as possible before bed! Night! 😉

7 responses to “Noshes and Nibbles

  1. The French toast from yesterday looks great! Too bad it didn’t fill you up, though. I just hate that. But one can never tire of oats, right? At least I can’t 😉

    I really wanna get Jillian’s 30 Day Shred. I’ve heard a lot about it, but I kinda think I may get bored after a week or so. I dunno…keep us posted on your progress!

    Hope you get lots done tonight!

  2. I hate when trying a new breakfast doesn’t hold you over like normal – I go through that sometimes too. I love my new green monsters but don’t have any protein powder at the moment, so they only last so long :(.

    That shrimp dia volo looks delish! Have a good day~

  3. I’ve got to say, I’m a big fan of snack fests! Sorry breakfast didn’t hold you over though 😦

    Glad you liked dinner! Giada is my favorite FN chef! I’ve never been disappointed by her recipes!!

  4. I love all the levels of the shred, level 2 is tough in a different way than level 3, I think they are both equally as hard though! Good for you for sticking with it.

  5. Hi there :))) That spicy shrimp sounds great!! Spicy foods are the besttttt and supposedly really good for you! ❤

  6. Pingback: Saturday Shopping « Healthy Fit Mama

  7. Pingback: Happy 4th! « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

