Listen to Your Body

“Listen to your body!”

This is something I used to tell the students in my Spinning classes last year. I always encouraged them to challenge themselves, but at the same time, I always emphasized the importance of listening to one’s body and knowing when to slow down. I’m great at giving sound advice. Problem is, I’m not so great at taking my own advice!

Well…today I finally listened to my body. My body was telling me it needed rest, so, although the baby was napping and it was a perfect time to exercise, I took a nap! I only got to sleep for about 30 minutes, but boy did I feel rejuvenated!

I still fit in my exercise today too. That catnap was all my body – and my mindΒ – needed to get through the rest of the day. I did Level 2 of the Shred after I woke up, while the baby was happily sitting in her bouncy seat.

Since I took time out to rest this afternoon, my exercise and dinner prep were pushed back a bit. For dinner, I wanted to do something quick. I grilled up some chicken breasts on the Foreman grill. For my sides, I went with double veggies – spinach and broccoli/cauliflower mix.

Blog 001

I also threw together a yummy side salad with a mixture of red leaf lettuce and fresh spinach with tomato, red onion, carrots, parsley, and balsamic vinegar.

Blog 002

About 45 minutes after dinner, I went into the basement and rode my Spinning bike for 25 minutes. Today’s ride wasn’t so much about the calorie burn. It was just more of a tension release for me. Some much needed “me time.”

Of course I needed a snack after my ride, so I ate a small banana.

The baby is in bed already, and I’m enjoying a nice evening cup of decaf coffee. Perfect way to end my day. πŸ™‚

6 responses to “Listen to Your Body

  1. i am so proud of you for listening to your body girl.. this is something i am still working on and it’s very inspiring to hear that you were able to give your body rest when it needed it =)!

  2. Sounds like you had a great day:). Kudos to you for listening to your body. I’m struggling with this one too…I feel like I’m sinning grievously if I don’t go to the gym!

  3. i think we are all continually working on listening to our bodies better – i honestly was just thinking about that on my drive into work this morning. my muscles are tired, my neck is cramped and i am pooped – i need to listen up and rest up tonight.

    thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

  4. Sounds like you had a great day. I love cat naps, I’m up at 5 each day as well to go to work so I feel your pain when it comes to long days. (Of course minus a baby which I’m sure makes it 10x harder.)

    I can’t believe you’re still keeping up with the Shred. I could only handle it 4 times a week and I still felt like I was going to die…

  5. Glad you listened to your body – a lot of people tend to ‘forget’ (aka IGNORE) what their body is telling them. Way to go with the Shred πŸ™‚

  6. Thanks for the reminder to “listen to my body.” When it comes to exercise, I could definitely use some work on that for sure.

    Good for you for listening and doing what your body needed! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

