Another Day, Another Graze-athon

So, what didn’t I eat today?? 🙂

I started out with my typical breakfast: oat bran with banana, cinnamon, vanilla, flaxseed, walnuts, and raisins, along with 1/2 cup of egg whites + one whole egg, scrambled. Delicious as usual!

Blog 003

Blog 004

Mid-morning, the graze-athon began with an apple and a small La Tortilla Factory tortilla (not pictured).

Blog 005

Having been up since 5 as usual, I was ready to eat “lunch” around 10:30. I scoured the fridge and the pantry and came up with some tuna and a portabella Gardenburger (and some unpictured Mary’s Gone Crackers). I think I have lost the taste for tuna. I didn’t eat it much while I was pregnant, and now I just don’t enjoy it like I used to. I only ate about 1/2 of the single-serve pouch.

Blog 006

Not surprisingly, I was hungry again about an hour after this small and rather unsatisfying meal. I had a handful of almonds and a bowl of Fiber One with unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze.

Blog 007

Blog 008

Early in the afternoon, I went to the supermarket to pick up some lunch meat. I came home having spent about $15…without any lunch meat! I hate it when I do that!

I did pick up some other yummy things though. I got a couple more packets of Jay Robb egg white protein powder. I also picked up a few Larabars on sale for 99 cents a piece. What a steal!

For an afternoon snack, I made a smoothie with my chocolate protein powder, 1 cup of almond milk, and 1 small banana. Mmmm, mmmm good! 🙂

Blog 009

After another catnap (this may become a regular thing!), I got down to business with Jillian Michaels late afternoon. I did Level 2 of the Shred. I’m definitely ready to move on to Level 3. Only a couple more days.

I worked up quite a sweat…and an appetite! I decided to try out one of my Larabars. (I’m so behind the times. I’ve only tried one flavor of these before!) I went for the Apple Pie flavor. I cut it in half, intending only to eat one half. However, it was soooooooo super-delicious I ended up eating the whole thing! I will definitely be buying this on again!

Blog 010

I spent a good chunk of the late afternoon gabbing on the phone with family, so I started preparing dinner about 30 minutes later than usual. I wanted something quick to make and easy to clean up, so I made barbecue turkey burgers on the Foreman grill with green beans and salad.

Blog 011

Blog 012

The baby is already in bed, so now that my food has had a chance to digest, I’m headed to the basement for a ride on my Spinning bike.

This was another one of those days when I felt like I was constantly eating. After dinner I did a quick tally on Self Diet Club and, much to my surprise, I discovered I have only taken in 1700 calories today. This is the problem I have – I eat and eat and eat, but because I tend to pick such low-cal foods, I still don’t meet my calorie needs. According to mypyramid.gov, as a breastfeeding 26-year-old who exercises 30-60 minutes most days of the week, I should be taking in 2200 calories! I’m going to need to work on this…

I plan to unwind after my ride with a nice cup of decaf. Perhaps those calories figures above are justification for a little dessert! 😉

5 responses to “Another Day, Another Graze-athon

  1. Looks like an ok day to me but I’m a snacker too. I love the apple pie Larabar, if you like cashews try the cashew cookie, it’s my favorite!

  2. Larabars are the best – my new fave is the Cinnamon Roll! Holy yum!

  3. How are those gardenburgers? Are they meaty? I like the sounds of them but if they try to be meat then I don’t think I’ll pick them up. Thanks in advance!

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      I really like the portabella Gardenburger. It has a lot of wild rice in it, and a bit of mozzarella cheese. It is by no means a meat imposter! 🙂 I used to eat these with some melted swiss on top – yum! But I’m not supposed to have dairy right now. It was bad enough I ate this burger with mozzarella in it. I think I gave the baby some tummy troubles! Ooops.

  4. Oh no! about going to the grocery store and forgetting the reason why you came. I do that all the time! But atleast you got something, right??

    Your smoothie looks delicious–I might have to copy you. 😉

Leave a Reply

