A Whole Lotta Chicken!

I certainly got my fair share of protein in today!

As is usually the case on Thursdays, the pantry and the fridge were looking a little bare. So I defrosted some chicken and cooked it on the Foreman grill. I sprinkled it with a mixture of paprika, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper and served it with some salsa. To round out my lunch, I also had a small tortilla and an apple. (Sorry – my chicken picture didn’t come out!)

Blog 017

Blog 018

I got some exercise in about an hour and a half after lunch – Level 2 of the Shred. After Jillian Michaels kicked my booty, I was ready for a snack. I had a bowl of Fiber One with almond milk and an applesauce.

Blog 019

I went out to Sunflower Farmers Market to buy some produce this afternoon. They are still having some killer sales for their grand opening. Here are just a few of the things I bought:

  • raspberries – 77 cents
  • strawberries – 77 cents
  • grapes – $1.99/lb (I ate several of these while making dinner!)
  • lettuce – 77 cents
  • asparagus – $1.27/lb
  • frozen mixed berries – 2 for $5
  • zucchini and yellow squash – 88 cents apiece

Totally worth the trip!

Even with an afternoon trip to the store, I was still able to squeeze in a ride on my bike before dinner! The baby gave me a good 30 minutes. It felt great!

Dinner was MORE chicken! I just baked it in the oven. I also made roasted asparagus. YUM! I love when the tips get all crunchy! 🙂

Blog 020

After I started eating, I decided I needed some sort of whole grain to complete the meal so I had another small tortilla. Love those!

It was a struggle getting the baby to sleep tonight, but I finally got her into bed and am enjoying some cinnamon-infused decaf coffee. I think I’ll make it an early night. 😉

3 responses to “A Whole Lotta Chicken!

  1. Man, those prices are amazing!

  2. That’s definitely a steal on the market haul!! Can’t beat that!

  3. woo woo for cheap eats! gotta dig those bargains!

Leave a Reply

