Carb-fest 2009!

Holy carbs!

Between my fruits and my other snacks, I had myself quite the carb-fest today (thankfully, I also got my fair share of protein in). It was just one of those days when, no matter what (or how much) I ate, I was still hungry. I think between the fact that I was tired (which is pretty much a given these days) and the fact that I had a massive headache, my body was just craving more food energy to get through the day.

It all started with my typical bowl of oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, banana, flax, walnuts, and raisins. And of course, my 1/2 cup of egg whites + one whole egg for a protein boost.

Blog 021

Blog 022

Mid-morning, I ate about 1/4 of a Ginger Snap Larabar. I didn’t love it. It was ok, but the taste of the cloves was really strong. If you love ginger snaps though, I’m sure you’ll love this bar.

Since I only ate 1/4 of that bar, I needed another snack. This snack was planned in advance. I knew my dinner tonight wouldn’t have much protein in it so I picked up a packet of Jay Robb Vanilla Egg White Protein PowderΒ a couple days ago. I put it in the blender with 1 BIG banana and a cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze. Oh my deliciousness! This tasted sooooooo good! I liked it so much better than the chocolate flavor.

Blog 023

For lunch, I had a leftover piece of grilled chicken from yesterday’s lunch on a small La Tortilla Factory tortilla with SonnyΒ & Joe’s Jalapeno Hummus and red leaf lettuce.

Blog 024

Carb-alicious afternoon snacks included:

  • an apple
  • a few grapes
  • a couple strawberries
  • another LTF tortilla
  • a bowl of Fiber One with almond milk

Today was my final day on Level 2 of the Shred. Thank God! I’m getting bored with this level, so I don’t think I quite put in my best effort today. At least I did it though.

For dinner, I cooked an Amy’s Roasted Vegetable Pizza. These were on sale at the grocery store last weekend. This one caught my eye because it didn’t have any cheese. Perfect for someone like me who is dairy-free out of necessity and not by choice! I was skeptical about a pizza with no cheese, but I was pleasantly surprised! It was incredibly tasty. It had a little bit of a sweet taste to it. Instead of sauce it had caramelized onions. It also had artichokes, mushrooms, and roasted red peppers. Even though it was a carbo-loaded dinner, I didn’t feel weighed down after. I had a nice side salad to go with it.

Blog 026

Blog 028

Blog 027

This pizza gave me a nice boost for a good 35 minute ride on my Spinning bike this evening. If I had had a regular cheesy pizza, I don’t think I would have been on the bike tonight!

I comtemplating an evening cup of decaf… It’s quite warm out tonight, but my decaf is such a nice way to end my day.

We’re taking the baby on her first mini-roadtrip tomorrow, so I’m not sure when I’ll be posting. But I’ll be posting at some point!

6 responses to “Carb-fest 2009!

  1. The pizza sounds good. I saw it the other day at the grocery store but didn’t buy it. I’ll have to try it.

    Have a fun and safe trip! πŸ™‚

  2. Mmm I love carbs! Carby carbs carbs! That pizza is amazing!! The balsamic stuff instead of tomato sauce blows my mind πŸ™‚ YUM!

  3. can’t get too many carbs in my opinion! gotta have that delish fuel, right?

    that pizza looks amazing!!!

  4. I wasn’t a fan of the ginger snap larabar either…I think their cashew cookie is my fave. πŸ˜€

    Oh, and love your cup…Go Red Sox! πŸ˜€

  5. Your wrap looks sooooo good – and that hummus sounds fantastic. I think I’ll add a little chopped up jalepeno to mine for a spicy treat!

Leave a Reply

