Healthy Cookout Eats

Today was much more eventful than my typical Saturday…and, lucky me, I started the day off much more rested than usual! I actually got to stay in bed until 6:30! Doesn’t sound late, but it is when you’re used to getting up at 5…and you go to bed at 9:30! 🙂

Breakfast was my old standby: oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, banana, flaxseed, walnuts and raisins, and 1/2 cup of egg whites + one whole egg.

blog 016

blog 017

I have already decided I’m going to switch up my breakfast tomorrow. Pretty exciting stuff. 😉

We had planned to do our usual family grocery shopping trip this morning, but the baby fell asleep before we left, so my husband stayed home with her while I shopped. I couldn’t resist a grande decaf iced Americano from Starbucks while I was out!

blog 018

When I got home with the groceries, we started getting ready to head up near Denver for a cookout. This was our first little roadtrip with the baby. We certainly had to pack a lot of stuff just to go to a cookout an hour away!

Before we left, I threw together a little fruit salad to bring with us.

blog 019

For a mid-morning snack, my husband and I split a Chocolate Coconut Larabar on the way out the door.

I ate soooo much at the cookout! But the great thing is, it was all HEALTHY! 🙂 I didn’t take any pictures, but here’s a list of my healthy cookout eats:

  • LOTS of fruit salad
  • Salad with mandarin oranges and almond slivers (This had a sweet homemade dressing on it…YUM!!)
  • Cucumbers with dill
  • Tortilla chips (Not the healthiest, but not awful. I didn’t eat too many of them.)
  • Guacamole
  • Grilled peppers and onions
  • Grilled marinated chicken tenders

The fact that I can’t have dairy actually worked to my advantage today. I couldn’t have any of the creamy, cheesy dips or any of the chocolate pudding/cool whip dessert. (I was bummed out about not having the dessert!)

We left the cookout around 4:30 so we could get home and get the baby fed, bathed, and in bed. When we got home, I put together a turkey wrap with mustard and lettuce for my dinner.

blog 020

While my husband fed the baby, I went into the basement and did Level 3 of the Shred. I can definitely say without a doubt that Jillian Michaels is CRAZY! Level 3 kicked my butt. It’s hard to believe I’ve been doing the Shred for 3 weeks straight! I thought about riding my Spinning bike after that, but by that point it was 7:30 and I was running out of steam for the day. Plus, I don’t really like to do the Shred and Spin back-to-back. I like to space them out during the day to give my legs a rest in between. I’m hoping to get in a nice long ride tomorrow morning before my hubby leaves for work.

After the Shred, I had a little bowl of Fiber One with some unsweetened vanilla almond milk for dessert. It was no chocolate pudding, but it still tasted good!

Speaking of dessert, tonight I’ll leave you with a question: What’s your all-time favorite dessert? Mine is definitely raspberry cheesecake! 😀

5 responses to “Healthy Cookout Eats

  1. glad you got to “sleep in” though sleeping in by my standards is definitely until like 10 =)

    my favorite dessert is CARROT CAKE .. ahh, my guiltiest pleasure for sure.

  2. Grilled peppers and onions are so good!

    My favorite dessert is tiramisu! I can’t turn it down 🙂

  3. Tough question, and ironic that I’m debating between the two desserts posted above lol. I’d have to go with tiramisu though. Bite for bite it’s so creamy and never dissapoints

  4. Your standby breakfast sounds so delicious! So many different flavors and textures – I probly would never get bored with it either.

    I’ve never tried the Shred, but I really want to. I’ve heard so many things about it, and it sounds great for when I’m too lazy/it’s too late to go to the gym.

    My fav dessert? Frozen custard! I just lurveeee it.

  5. I agree, Jillian is NUTS! I have to force myself to do level 3 b/c I know I am going to be sweating bullets. It’s definitely great when it’s over but I cuss her out during half the routine.

Leave a Reply

