Great Grains

I spent my “lunch break” with Jillian Michaels doing Level 3 of the Shred. Today was day 23 overall. Only 7 more days to go! Once I get finished with the Shred, I definitely need a couple days off from strength training. After that, it’s on to Biggest Loser Bootcamp!

After Shredding, my usual afternoon snackathon commenced with this lovely little plate:

Blog 034

That held me over for a couple hours, but by the time 4:00 rolled around I was STARVING! I wanted to go into the basement and ride my Spinning bike, but I new I wouldn’t have the energy unless I fueled up first. So I fixed a small bowl of oatmeal 1/4 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of water, cinnamon, and SF syrup.

Blog 035

I popped some chicken into the oven to cook while I was riding. I rode for 20 minutes, and then came back upstairs to finish preparing dinner.

I baked the chicken sprinkled with salt and pepper. I made a simple balsamic reduction to pour over it once it was done. Along with my chicken, I made Wilted Balsamic Spinach and Kashi 7 Whole Grain Pilaf. This was the first time I’ve ever made this pilaf. All I can say is YUM! I think this is my new favorite side dish! I loved all the different grains. They had a nice nutty flavor. This is a million times better than my usual couscous! I actually think that if we had had some leftover pilaf it could have been turned into a really good breakfast since it has oats, barley, rye and other tasty grains.

Blog 036

Blog 037

I was quite pleased with myself. This was an excellent dinner! 😀

After I ate, the baby fell asleep really early…6pm! She was definitely overtired because she hardly napped at all today. I decided I would forego her bath tonight and I just laid her in her crib. Yippee – more “me” time!

I hopped back on my bike. I got 13 minutes into my second ride when my husband came downstairs…carrying the fully-awake baby. That put an end to my ride! In total though, I got 33 minutes on my bike today. Not too shabby for a workday!

After a long struggle, I finally got the baby back to sleep and I’m now sipping my evening up of wind-me-down decaf, infused with cinnamon of course! 😉

I’m definitely calling it a night very shortly! See ya tomorrow.

7 responses to “Great Grains

  1. Hey Emily, just wanted to say that you have a great website. I have 2 boys and love to workout. Already did the 30 day shred and now alternate between Jillian’s Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism and No More Trouble Zones. Have you heard anything about the P90x program?

  2. You are so consistent with your workouts. Great!

    I’ll have to try Kashi Pilaf. Sounds delicious!

  3. I love all the balsamic vinegar with dinner – yum!! Way to go with your workouts! That’s great!

  4. awesome workouts, girl! Keep up the amazing work =)!

  5. LOVE the kashi pilaf! woowoo for the one week countdown until the end of the shred – you go girl!

  6. I love your idea of using the pilaf for a breakfast!! I never would have thought of that. That would be especially great on vacation for a quick ‘n’ easy dish. I’ll have to try it…:D

    Good for you for fitting in all these workouts!! 😀

Leave a Reply

