Pounding the Virtual Pavement (and Product Review!)

Well, I got up at 2:30 am to feed the baby. Nothing out of the ordinary there. I crawled back into bed as usual…and could NOT fall asleep again! My mind was racing with thoughts of, “Oh my God – what are we going to do?!”

I laid in bed until 4, and finally just decided to get up. As soon as I came downstairs, I made a pot of decaf and got right on the computer to start pounding the virtual pavement, knocking on cyber doors.

I managed to hold off the rumbling in my tummy until about 5, when I decided to make breakfast. This meal hardly needs any explanation any more.

The usual: oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, banana, flaxseed, raisins and walnuts, along with 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, and a cup of cinnamon-infused decaf coffee.

The usual: oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, banana, flaxseed, raisins and walnuts, along with 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, and a cup of cinnamon-infused decaf coffee.

After sending my resume out like it’s my job (oh wait – that is my job now!), I was in need of a snack around 8. I had a golden delicious apple.

A couple hours later, I made one of my standby lunches: turkey wrap with mustard.

blog 034

Around noon, I had a glass of almond milk blended with unsweetened cocoa powder and ice along with a kiwi. Then I headed out to run an errand.

blog 035

blog 036

I won’t go into details, but this afternoon I did come up with a good lead on a job. I’m not putting all my eggs in one basket, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

I got some exercise in this afternoon with Level 3 of the Shred and 15 minutes on my Spinning bike. I also took some time to throw dinner in the slow cooker. (More on that later.)

Around 3, the doorbell rang. Foodie package!! The wonderful folks at Amazing Grass sent me some samples, along with a super cool shaker!

blog 037

It was a hot day here today, so the SuperFood barswere pretty melty. I threw them in the fridge for a bit to harden them up.

Being the chocolate-lover that I am, I knew I had to try the Chocolate Whole Food Energy Bar first.

blog 038

Holy chocolate!!! For taste, I give this bar two thumbs WAY up! I had planned to only eat half of it, but I just couldn’t stop eating it once I started. In addition to the chocolate, I could really taste the coconut – which I loved! It almost reminded me of a Mounds bar.

This bar has more sugar than I typically like in a bar (27g) but according to the label, only 2g actually come from the cane sugar. It packs 230 calories and 9g of healthy omega fats. This makes an excellent, filling snack. I highly recommend it!!

As I mentioned earlier, dinner was cooked in the slow cooker tonight – chicken with italian seasoning, summer squash, onion, and pasta sauce. I really liked the convenience of cooking this meal in the slow cooker, but taste-wise, I think I prefer the chicken baked and the veggies cooked on the stove. One thing I did like though was the way the chicken just fell apart. Mmmmm!

blog 039

blog 040

An hour after dinner, I hopped back on my bike for 15 minutes before I put the baby to bed.

For “dessert,” I used the left over decaf coffee from this morning and had a yummy iced coffee. (No pic)

Tomorrow will be more of the same – tending to the baby, sending out resumes.

******************************************************

Thank you all so much for the supportive messages! It’s a tough time, but I’m trying to stay positive about finding a new job! 🙂

6 responses to “Pounding the Virtual Pavement (and Product Review!)

  1. good luck with the resumes – i know how much fun those are :).

    yeah for amazing grass too – i’m seeing this stuff everywhere. i might just need to get my hands on some. have a good day dear!

  2. Good luck with all the resumes!! I hope you hear about a new prospect soon 🙂

  3. Early morning! That’s amazing you made it a super productive one! Good for you! Good luck with the job search!

    Wonderful looking breakfast! Very well-rounded and looks to be very tasty!

    Have a great day!

  4. hang in there with the job search, love! I hope that wonderful package made you feel better =) The amazing grass products sound very interesting!

    much love to you!
    Jenny

  5. Job hunting can be so frustrating — hang in there, something WILL come through. I hope this lead works out!
    The oat bran looks yummy. 🙂 Best way to start the day!

  6. Fun package! I’ve seen those bars at Whole Foods before.

    Good luck with job hunting. Glad you’ve got a lead, and I’m prayin’ for ya!

Leave a Reply

