Things are Looking Up, Perhaps

I was able to get some good sleep last night, and I woke up at 6:30 feeling great. I made my breakfast a little before 7, almost 2 hours later than I have been eating breakfast. It’s amazing how getting more sleep affects my appetite. I stayed full much longer than usual because my body didn’t need food to stay awake.

Any guesses as to what I had for breakfast?! You got it – oat bran with banana, cinnamon, vanilla, flax, walnuts and raisins, along with 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg.

blog 041

I felt much more satisfied after my breakfast today. I didn’t reach for a snack until after 10. I dipped into my stash of Amazing Grass products. I tried the Chocolate Green SuperFood powder mixed with 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze. I also had a golden delicious apple.

blog 042

blog 043

I think I would have like the powder better if I had blended it with a banana. It did have a bit of a grassy taste to it. I’ll have to try it with banana next time. At least I got my greens!

After my snack this morning,  I headed out with the baby to run a few errands. We went to visit my hubby at work and brought him some Starbucks iced coffee. Naturally, I had to get myself something too – decaf iced Americano, of course!

While we were visiting my hubby at work, I ended up having a small salad, a small banana, and one chicken nugget (couldn’t resist trying them!). I didn’t have my camera with me because I wasn’t planning on eating while I was out.

By the time I got home, I was pretty hungry. The salad was very small so it didn’t do much for me. My choices at home for mid-day protein were chicken salad or more eggs. I opted for the eggs. I made an egg white sammie on sprouted grain bread with a little bit of Earth Balance spread, salt, and pepper. Simple, but it hit the spot!

blog 045

I did the Shred this afternoon, though it took me about an hour to complete the one 25-minute segment because the baby was kind of fussy. I don’t think she’s enjoying the hot weather!

After I finally got through my Level 3 workout, I got back into my Amazing Grass products for a snack. This time I had 1/2 of a Whole Food Energy Bar.

blog 046

I really liked this one too! Again, I could really taste the coconut, which I loved. Consistency wise, it reminded me of a Larabar, only it’s bigger and more filling! I certainly got my greens for the day!!

I knew that dinner was going to be chicken again because that’s the only thing we had left. I had been planning to bake it in the oven, but felt like that was a little boring and plain. I looked in the freezer at my selection of frozen veggies, and ended up coming up with this:

blog 047

It was a yummy chicken and veggie stirfry with broccoli, cauliflower, green beans, carrots, and red onion. I sprinkled on some sesame seeds as the finishing touch. This was quite a satisfying meal!

After I got the baby into bed around 7:45, I hopped on my Spinning bike and rode for 20 minutes. I had planned to ride longer than that, but after I started riding my tummy didn’t feel so great. My super huge dinner was just sitting in my belly like a rock. 😦

So, about the title of my post… I have a preliminary phone interview coming up in the next few days for a job already! I really hope this works out. I already feel a little less stressed about our situation. Cross your fingers! 😀

3 responses to “Things are Looking Up, Perhaps

  1. I’m such a bad bloggie! I haven’t tried my Amazing Grass products yet! Glad you liked them 🙂

    Sleep is a wonderful thing, isn’t it? Glad you got caught up on some Zzzs!

  2. Congrats on the interview! I will cross my fingers for ya!

    Yeah for an iced Starbucks treat! Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. how exciting about the job interview! I’ll be sure to keep you in my thoughts, good luck girl! =)

Leave a Reply

