On the Right Track

Baby woke me up at 5:30 today, but I snuggled up with her in my bed and she and I were both able to go back to sleep for about an hour. 🙂

Around 6:45, I fixed myself the usual breakfast.

Oat bran with banana, cinnamon, raisins, flax, and walnuts, and 1/2 cup of egg whites + one whole egg

Oat bran with banana, cinnamon, raisins, flax, and walnuts, and 1/2 cup of egg whites + one whole egg

It was already pretty warm outside this morning, but nevertheless I sweated my way through my favorite hot breakfast!

I spent most of the morning applying to jobs like a mad woman. I was ready for a snack around 9:30, so I had the other 1/2 of my Amazing Grass Whole Food Energy Bar from yesterday. So good – and so good for you! Even the hubby liked these. What a tasty way to get your veggies!

I went out to do a few errands again today. I had to pick up something for dinner, since the fridge and freezer are nearly empty. Saturday is our regular shopping day.

Shortly before noon, I made myself some lunch: a Flat Out pizza with tomato sauce, chicken, tomato slices, roasted red peppers, and dried basil.

blog 049

Honestly, this lunch was just ok. It didn’t hit the spot like I’d hoped. Pizza just isn’t the same without cheese.

In the early afternoon, I had a preliminary phone interview for a job. I was really excited about it, and I felt like it went well. Now I just have to wait and see if they decide to offer me another interview.

After my phone call, it was snack time! I had an applesauce, and then I used another Amazing Grass Chocolate Green SuperFood packet. This time I threw it in the blender with 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1 small banana, and 5 ice cubes.

blog 050

It was a nice cool snack on a hot day. I still didn’t love it though. But again, I got my veggies!

It was an absolutely gorgeous day, so I decided to take the baby for a walk. I walked for 45 minutes with her in the Baby Bjorn. I decided to kill two birds with one stone – I talked to both of my sisters while I was walking. It never fails when I’m talking to one of my sisters, the other one calls in at the same time. Today was no exception! 🙂

After my walk, I continued on my my exercise and did Level 3 of the Shred. I can’t believe I’ve almost completed my 30 days. I am nothing if not consistent! 😉

I had to run out when my husband got home to ship all my office equipment back to my old employer. I was leaving at my typical dinner time, so I was pretty hungry. I grabbed a handful of Fiber One cereal on my way out the door.

When I got home, I threw dinner in the oven – turkey tenderloins brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper. I had my turkey with a side of spinach drizzled with fresh lemon juice.

blog 051

Right after dinner, I also cut up an apple to share with my husband. (It was the last one left.) I only ended up eating about 1/3 of it because some of the slices had kind of a moldy taste to them. YUCK!

Once I had the baby settled in her crib, I decided I’d squeeze in a little more cardio. I hopped on my Spinning bike for a light 20-minute ride.

Now, I’m POOPED! It’s been a trying week and I’m glad it’s over. I’m going to take the weekend off from job searching. I’ll be right back to it on Monday. For now, I’m just looking forward to enjoying a quiet weekend with my family – and going out for a yummy Father’s Day brunch! I’ve already picked out what I’m going to order. 😉

5 responses to “On the Right Track

  1. sorry that pizza for lunch wasn’t up to par – it looks like it had so much potential!

    what a beautiful way to spend your afternoon.. walking in your park with your precious angel and chatting with your sisters =)

  2. Just curious, why did you not put cheese on your pizza? Also, what did you think of the chocolate flavored Amazing Grass? I want to order some and usually don’t enjoy the strong or fake taste of chocolate in these powders, so I just stick with vanilla or the original flavor. What is your take on it? Thanks! And good luck job hunting. Sounds like you are hitting the pavement hard!

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      Christy – I’m breastfeeding my daughter and she’s allergic to cow’s milk protein, so I can’t have any dairy right now. That’s why I skipped the cheese. It’s also how I got turned on to almond milk. I didn’t mind the chocolate Amazing grass. It’s really not very chocolatey. I perferred it when I blended it with banana.

  3. Have you tried Amy’s Cheeseless pizza? Oh my goodness, it changed my mine about cheese! I’m a cheeseaholic but that pizza is out of this world 🙂

    Hope you get some R&R this weekend!

  4. Ooh have fun at your brunch!

Leave a Reply

