Saturday Shopping

Now that I’m unemployed, there is really no difference between my weekday mornings and my weekend mornings. I was up at 6:30 with the baby today, and came downstairs to fix something to eat.

I made a couple modifications to my usual breakfast today. Instead of straight oat bran, I had an oat bran/oatmeal mix:

  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • heaping 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • banana
  • flaxseed
  • raisins
  • walnuts

blog 001

I also beefed up my protein this morning. I wanted to use up the rest of my carton of egg whites so I had 3/4 cup of egg whites (as opposed to my usual 1/2 cup) + 1 whole egg.

blog 002

Talk about a hearty breakfast!! 😀

This morning, we did our usual Saturday shopping: Target and the supermarket. I was getting hungry when we left for our shopping extravaganza at 10, so I grabbed my last Amazing Grass Chocolate Whole Food Energy Bar. So bummed these are all gone! I would love to buy some, but given my current lack of employment, I’m having to cut out the extras, like energy bars. 😦

blog 003

This is absolutely the most delicious way to get your veggies!!

We got home from shopping around 11:30. After the groceries were put away and the baby was fed and changed, I decided to make some lunch. I threw together a small fruit salad for the hubby and I with some of our fresh produce purchases:

  • 1 golden delicious apple
  • 1 kiwi
  • raspberries
  • blueberries
  • strawberries
  • splash of OJ

blog 004

For my lunch, I had a small bowl of my fruit salad and a turkey wrap with roasted red peppers.

blog 006

blog 005

Around 3, I decided it was time to get my Shred on for the day. (2 more days to go!!) I needed a little fuel first though, so I had a little bowl of Fiber One with almond milk.

blog 007

Dinner was one of my new favorites: Shrimp Fra Diavolo. I served it over a small amount of organic whole wheat rotini. Not much to say about this, other than YUM!!

blog 008

I put my baby girl to bed around 7:45 and headed into the basement to hop on my Spinning bike (after I had digested my food, of course). I had a really intense 35-minute ride. I was dripping sweat when I was done! Great workout!

Right now, I’m sipping on a home-brewed decaf iced coffee. No more Starbucks for this girl. Gotta save some cash!

blog 009

Tomorrow morning we’re going out for Father’s Day breakfast. I had contemplated cancelling our reservations after I lost my job on Tuesday, but I decided to keep them. This will be the last hurrah. Plus, I feel like Father’s Day doesn’t get as much special attention as Mother’s Day does. Since it’s my hubby’s first Father’s Day, I want to make it special!

I’m really looking forward to this breakfast! Breakfast is my favorite meal to go out for!

What’s your favorite meal to dine out for – breakfast, lunch, or dinner??

***************************************************************

GIVEAWAY NEWS: Head over to Chocolate-Covered Katie to enter her sexy giveaway!

4 responses to “Saturday Shopping

  1. Love roasted red peppers!! My favorite meal to dine out is lunch – usually the restaurants aren’t insanely busy and the portion sizes are a little bit closer to normal 😉

    I’ve never thought of putting OJ in fruit salad – nice!!

  2. have a wonderful breakfast with your hubby =)!

  3. momof3getshealthy

    Hi. i just came across your blog and it’s nice to see other moms with young kids (or kid in your case) who are also trying to live a healthy lifestyle. my close friends idea of a diet is to starve. i love food too much and with 3 kids i need all the energy i can get. i just started level 2 of the 30 day shred. if you want a real butt kicker, try Jillian’s boost your metabolism! whoa!

Leave a Reply

