Power Smoothie and Day 30 of the Shred

I was sooo refreshed when I woke up this morning! Baby slept 8 1/2 straight hours last night. Ahhhh! 🙂

It was a typical morning… I had the usual breakfast around 6:30: oat bran with banana, cinnamon, vanilla, flaxseed, raisins, and walnuts, along with 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg. Never fails to hit the spot!

blog 016

blog 017

My husband and I have decided that we are definitely moving back to New England next month, so I started weeding some things out this morning. I didn’t get very far though because baby just didn’t want to be put down at all today.

Mid-morning, I grabbed an apple for a snack.

blog 018

I was finally able to get myself put together and, around 11, I headed out to do some errands. I hit up Target for some packing tape and such.

Baby continued to sleep in her car seat for a bit when we got home, so I quickly fixed myself some lunch: turkey wrap with jalapeno hummus, lettuce, and tomato. What a combo! Loved it!

blog 019

I spent the majority of the afternoon applying for jobs like crazy. By the way, I filed for unemployment. What a humbling experience…

This afternoon, I made myself a power smoothie! I used 3/4 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup of OJ, one packet of Amazing Grass, frozen mixed berries, and some soy protein powder. Fruit, veggies, and protein all in one frosty glass. Can’t beat it! It tasted great and was quite filling, too.

blog 020

blog 021

blog 022

I may need to make another one of these tomorrow. It was perfect for this hot weather we’re having!

Later in the afternoon, I needed another little snack before my exercise so I went to my old standby: Fiber One with almond milk. I added a few raisins in too. Yummy!

blog 023

Late in the afternoon, I completed Day 30 of the 30 Day Shred. I did it! 30 days in a row! I took my measurements again today and they were down a bit in my waist, thighs, and butt. Plus,  I lost 2 lbs. I guess Jillian Michaels, in all her craziness, really does know what she’s doing! 😉 I decided to reward my hard work by not doing any additional exercise today. It’s just so darn hot too it was hard enough to muster the energy to Shred. If there’s one thing I miss about going to the gym it’s the A/C!!

Given the heat, I kept dinner light and cool this evening – more salad. Tonight it was one of my faves: ground turkey taco salads with romaine lettuce, tomatoes, red onion, salsa, and a few crushed tortilla chips for added crunch.

blog 024

For dessert, I split a kiwi with the hubby.

blog 025

I also ended up having some more home-brewed cinnamon-infused decaf iced coffee – a summertime must!

We’re in for another hot day tomorrow, so I’m already contemplating a cold breakfast tomorrow morning. I do love my oats though… 😉

5 responses to “Power Smoothie and Day 30 of the Shred

  1. Congratulations on completing the 30 Day Shred!!! I just started experimenting with making smoothies; yours looks good! 🙂

  2. cinnamon-infused coffee? yes please!

  3. Congrats on the weight loss and the 8.5 hours of sleep!! Love New England!

  4. congrats on getting through the shred!!!! you did awesome, girlie!

  5. Congrats on completing level 3, you make it seem so easy!! Keep up the good work and yummy meals.

Leave a Reply

