Dinner with Friends

Well, the stress of the move and my current lack of employment is definitely taking its toll. I’m not sleeping well at night. I got up with the baby at 4:30, then went backto bed, but I was only able to sleep in 20 minute increments. Grrrr… I finally just got out of bed at 6.

Breakfast was the usual. Today though I added a few raisins in the oat bran while it was cooking. It made for some plump, juicy raisins!

Oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, flaxseed, banana, raisins, and walnuts

Oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, flaxseed, banana, raisins, and walnuts

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I’m almost out of oat bran, but since we’re moving in 3 weeks, I’m not going to buy anymore. I’ll have to settle for oatmeal – which I still love, just not as much as oat bran. We have a ridiculous amount of oatmeal though so it seems silly to buy more oat bran before we leave.

I had my phone interview at 9 this morning. It went really well. I’m not sure if it’s going to work out though because the salary is significantly lower than what I was making. I’m keeping the option open though because when it comes down to it, I just need full time employment with benefits!

Late in the morning,  I started to feel snacky. I had an apple and then I made myself a smoothie.

3/4 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup of OJ, frozen mixed berries, and 1 packet of Amazing Grass

3/4 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup of OJ, frozen mixed berries, and 1 packet of Amazing Grass

This was tasty, but it wasn’t very filling. It seemed like it was missing something. About halfway through my smoothie, I realized what it was – I forgot to add in the soy protein powder. Bummer. I missed out on some much needed protein.

I spent the rest of the morning applying to more jobs online, playing with the baby, and packing a few things up. I took a break around noon for some lunch.

Chicken salad w/ light mayo, lettuce, and tomato on sprouted grain bread

Chicken salad w/ light mayo, lettuce, and tomato on sprouted grain bread

I also had a few almonds to go with it.

blog 038

After lunch, I loaded the baby in the front carrier and walked to the bank. It’s only about a 10 minute walk. On my way back, I passed a storage place that also happens to sell moving supplies. I went in to see if they had packing paper and they did. They only sold it in 10-lb boxes, so I bought one and ended getting quite a workout walking home carrying a 10-lb box, with an 11-lb baby strapped to the front of me! 🙂

I decided I wanted to get a little more exercise in, so when we got home, I put baby in her bouncy seat and hopped on my Spinning bike for a sweaty 30-minute ride. I also did some ab exercises.

Late in the afternoon, I was STARVING! I knew dinner was going to be much later than usual tonight since our friends from Boulder were braving rush hour traffic through Denver to come eat with us. I felt like I needed some protein – my ride left me feeling a little light headed. I looked through the pantry and the fridge and settled on some more egg whites.

blog 039

I still wasn’t fully satisfied, so I sliced up a kiwi.

blog 040

Our friends arrived at 6:30, by which time I was gnaw-my-arm-off hungry! I usually eat dinner around 5:30 or 6. We all decided on a little sub shop around the corner and we ordered takeout. I got the same thing I always get there – a grilled chicken salad with Italian dressing. The salad was a mixture of romaine lettuce, red onion, tomatoes, black olives, pickles, and sweet peppers. Sooooooo good! I had mine with a slice of sprouted grain bread on the side. I may or may not have eaten a few of the hubby’s French fries too. 😉 This place has amazing fries!

By the time I had my dinner (well after 7), I was so hungry I completely forgot to take a picture of it! I inhaled it all as soon as I opened the container!

As is typical, I’m thinking about breakfast already. I’m thinking I may go with something different tomorrow… We shall see!

4 responses to “Dinner with Friends

  1. Sorry about the sleeping issues – that’s never fun 😦

    Hope you guys enjoyed dinner out last night!!

  2. Haha…I always start thinking about breakfast at night too. I’m a brekkie fanatic!

    Glad you had a fun night!

  3. so glad the interview went well! I’ll be sure to keep my fingers crossed for you 🙂 ❤

  4. Don’t you hate when you get that gnaw-your-arm-off hunger? I usually manage to avoid it, but it’s happened to me at least 3 times this week due to schedules being all over the place. Craziness! 😀

    Glad you had fun last night…and hope you start sleeping better!

Leave a Reply

