One Fruit, Two Fruits, Three Fruits, Four…

I had a major sweet tooth today with led me to eat quite a bit of fruit, as you’ll see. At least I didn’t quell the sweet craving with candy or some other junk!

Let me start at the beginning… I woke up at 4:45 and sort of panicked because I realized the baby hadn’t gotten up at all! I was sort of scared to go in her room. I went in and checked on her and she was, of course, sleeping! I had slept 7 straight hours and I felt amazing. I ended up just coming downstairs at 5 to have some coffee.

Baby woke up at 5:15, after 9 1/2 straight hours of sleep. That’s a record for her! I fed her when she woke up, and she went right back to sleep until 7.

Around 5:30 I started putting together my breakfast. I had this big, beautiful bowl of deliciousness:

3/4 cup of Fiber One buried under 1 sliced banana, ~1 tbs of raisins, ~1 tbs of chopped walnuts, and chopped almonds

3/4 cup of Fiber One buried under 1 sliced banana, ~1 tbs of raisins, ~1 tbs of chopped walnuts, and chopped almonds with ~3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Raisins = fruit #1. Banana = fruit #2.

I also had this perfect plate of protein (nice alliteration, huh?? ;-)):

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I was in my jammies until about 8, doing some things online (booking a UHaul, searching for jobs, etc.). I was able to get myself put together during baby’s morning nap.

Around 9:30, I had my typical morning smack – an apple (fruit #3). I also made a chocolate-strawberry almond-milkshake (fruit #4). HOLY YUM!

3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, fresh and frozen strawberries, and ~1 tbs of cocoa powder

3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, fresh and frozen strawberries, and ~1 tbs of cocoa powder

This was soooooooooo good! You’ll definitely be seeing this drink again!

I continued doing errands and moving stuff throughout the rest of the morning. Lunch was a repeat of yesterday’s lunch – chicken breast on sprouted grain bread with hot pepper hummus and spinach. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again – I cannot believe I used to dislike hummus! How crazy is that?!

blog 010

blog 011

I had to run to the store to get stamps, so I treated myself to a Cherry Pie Larabar (fruit #5). I ate it as my first afternoon snack.

blog 012

I loved the tartness of the cherries mixed with the sweetness of the dates. I would definitely buy this one again, though the Apple Pie and Banana Bread flavors are still tied for my favorite.

I followed up my Larabar with 1/4 of a cantaloupe (fruit #6 – yikes!).

blog 013

I’m not gonna lie – after I ate this, I had a fruit-sugar tummy ache. 😦 I didn’t intentionally eat that much fruit today; it just happened. I was just craving sweet things.

I was going to exercise before dinner, but instead I took a little snooze on the couch with my baby girl. Much better!

For dinner, I made turkey burgers with sauteed red onions, Wilted Balsamic Spinach, and whole wheat couscous. I spiced up the burgers with garlic salt and pepper, and I poured the leftover reduced balsamic vinegar from the spinach over the couscous.

blog 014

I ended up doing two 20-minute rides on my Spinning bike this evening – 20 minutes while hubby was feeding the baby, and 20 minutes after I put baby to bed.

At some point in the midst of all these errands and eats today, I had a mini-meltdown about finances. I got the information to enroll in COBRA today and it is sooo expensive. Plus we are spending over $2,000 to move. My mom talked me down a bit, and some very generous family members dropped checks in the mail to help us out. I hope that sometime in the near future our situation improves so I can pay them back – and pay it forward!

I just finished off my night (and eased my stress a bit) with a little splash of Pinot Grigio. Ahhh. Definitely ready for bed now! Here’s hoping I hear from some job prospects tomorrow!

7 responses to “One Fruit, Two Fruits, Three Fruits, Four…

  1. I eat fruit out the wazoo. I should probably think about trying to cut it back just a titch but I love the stuff. Sigh!

    That smoothie sounds like perfection. I’ll have to remember that combo. So simple!

    Life before hummus… I can’t even begin to imagine how I LIVED.

  2. I have just recently developed a sweet tooth, and fruit has definitely helped me when it “hits.”

    I hope things will look up for you soon!

  3. I eat 25 fruits a day so I have no judgement over your fruit intake! Hummus IS amazing, I remember introducing my friends to it a while back – they love it now too!

    I’m sorry about all the hassles you’ve been having to deal with. I know it can get really overwhelming at times, hang in there!

  4. wine always help ease things a bit 🙂

    yeah for a fabulous night’s sleep! good luck with the moving and finances – it’s hard but you will get through it!

  5. I’m glad you’ve embraced hummus into your life 🙂 It shouldn’t be shunned!

    Glad you got a full night of sleep! Gotta love the Grigio!!

  6. mmm i can never get enough fruit! such a great way to get my sweet fix in 🙂

    good luck with the job hunt, love! xo

  7. Pingback: The Wizard of Oz « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

