Almond Butter Salvage!

Anmond other day, another delicious bowl of Banana Bread Oats.

blog 021

All mixed up with about 1/4 cup of almond milk

All mixed up with about 1/4 cup of almond milk

I also drizzled on some SF maple syrup before I ate this. Deeelish! I’m drooling  just looking at these photos!

Of course, I also had my protein side dish.

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

Mid-morning, while the baby was napping, I decided to try and salvage my failed almond butter from yesterday. I whisked it together with a little bit of almond milk. The result: an amazingly delicious and spreadable topping! It’s almost like an almond butter mousse. It may not have turned out the way I initially planned, but at least I was able to keep all those almonds from going to waste.

blog 024

Naturally I had to incorporate my almond butter concotion into my morning snack.

Apple with almond butter-ish dip

Apple with almond butter-ish dip

It tasted great on my apple!

Lunch was the first of several english muffin sammiesthat will be appearing on the blog over the next 2 weeks. (Seriously, we have 2 1/2 packages in the freezer that need to get used up before we move.) I had chicken breast, mustard, and lettuce on a whole wheat english muffin.

blog 026

My afternoon snack was perfect for a hot day like this – chocolate-banana protein smoothie.

3/4 cup of almond milk, 1 packet of Jay Robb egg white protein powder, 1 small banana, ice

3/4 cup of almond milk, 1 packet of Jay Robb egg white protein powder, 1 small banana, ice

This afternoon I got in a sweaty 45-minute ride on my Spinning bike. In honor of the late King of Pop, I rode to all Michael Jackson songs. 45 minutes was over before I knew it! I also did some ab work in front of the TV after dinner.

I had taken out some ground turkey for dinner, but knowing that the hubby gets pretty bored with the few things I make with ground turkey, I decided to get a little creative. I made Stuffed Yellow Peppers. In the mix: extra lean ground turkey, diced onions, diced yellow peppers, cooked whole wheat couscous, tomato sauce, salt and pepper.

blog 028

blog 029

These came out really good! It was nice to have something a little different for dinner. I tend to get stuck in a rut when it comes to dinner – making the same few things over and over again.

I had a little bit up cubed cantaloupe while I was prepping dinner. Thinking about having some more now…

Have a good night! 😀

10 responses to “Almond Butter Salvage!

  1. The stuffed pepper looks awesome!

  2. gina (fitnessista)

    i failed when i tried to make ab too 😦
    the stuffed pepper looks amazing!
    have a great day!

  3. way to show some love to MJ by rocking out to his tunes. yeah for salvaged almond butter! have a wonderful day dear!

  4. I need to try the ABU soon! I love the whole concept, sometimes you just need to drizzle some healthy fat on your foods right?

    I hope my own attempt at almond butter goes well….

  5. Way to go with the ABU! Glad you were able to salvage the nut butter 🙂

    Stuffed peppers are so good! Yours look awesome!!

  6. Just went to my favorite Spin class yesterday and the instructor did a Michael Jackson tribute. I thought I would get bored of his music by the end, but I had forgotten how many great songs he sang! It was a great class!

  7. Love your spreadable ab concoction! I’ve yet to attempt my own almond butter, looks awesome!

  8. traveleatlove

    I love yellow peppers, and that dish looks awesome!

  9. yum that almond butter concoction looks heavenly!

  10. Pingback: A Guacamole Kind of Day « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

