The Wizard of Oz

Ok, so that title has nothing to do with my post…except for the fact that I’m watching it on TV right now. I love this movie! My sisters and I used to watch this all the time at my grandparents’ house on those big, clunky video disks back in the day.

Anyway, onto today’s eats and fitness…

Breakfast hardley needs explanation – Banana Bread OatsΒ made with 3/4 of a cup of oatmeal for more staying power. My banana was super-duper ripe, which always makes my oats taste amazing! I ate my oats alongside a plate of scrambled eggs – 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg per my usual.

blog 015

blog 016

I decided to hit up Sunflower Farmers Market very early in the day – 8:45 am – to take advantage of the awesome produce deals and avoid the ridiculous crowd that’s always around in the afternoon. It was perfect timing. I got what I needed (and wanted) and was in and out in no time. My purchases included fresh spinach, cantaloupe, grapes, bulk raisins (only $1.99/lb!), baby carrots, blueberries, strawberries, and blackberries. I also got a Banana Bread Larabar which I snacked on on the way home. (Can you tell I love all things banana/banana bread?! :-D)

blog 017

I’m always saying on this blog that I can’t decide whether the Banana Bread or Apple Pie flavored bar is my favorite. After eating the Banana Bread flavor again today, I actually decided that I like the Apple Pie Larabar the best! Obviously Banana Bread runs a very close second.

Once I got home, I putzed around for a bit, doing this and that before making some lunch – a salad with romaine lettuce, tomato, carrots, chicken, and a scoop of hot pepper hummus and some Mary’s Gone Crackers on the side. Hot pepper hummus + hot weather = sweaty mama! Haha!

blog 018

I also snacked on some red grapes right after my lunch.

I got my exercise in much earlier than usual today, which was nice. I did Levels 1 & 2 of Biggest Loser Bootcamp in the early afternoon. I think every muscle in my body was burning afterward…not to mention the fact that I was a big, sweaty mess. I love it! That’s how I can tell I really got a good workout.

For my afternoon snack, I made another Chocolate-Strawberry Almond-Milkshake. I put a few more fresh strawberries in this time. YUM!

blog 008

blog 020

The hubby got out of work at 2 today for the long weekend, which was a nice treat. Being the exciting folks that we are, we decided to go get our grocery shopping out of the way. Crazy, I know! I picked up some sweet potatoes to work into our dinner, since I’m trying to mix things up a bit lately. I also caved and bought some La Tortilla Factory tortillas. I’m sure I’ll eat them all up before we leave. In fact, I already got started my eating one for a snack when we got home! πŸ˜‰

Dinner was grilled chicken breasts (done on the Foreman) with broccoli and cauliflower and sweet potato oven fries. For my fries, I cut the sweet potatoes into thin strips and threw them in a bowl with a bit of olive oil, sage, rosemary, oregano, garlic salt, and pepper. I tossed it all together to coat the fries and baked them in the oven at 425 for about 40 minutes. Mmmmmm!

blog 021

*****************************************************************

So I’ve been reading some debates on various blogs about fruit. Is it good for you? Or should you avoid it because of the sugar?

In my opinion, too much of anythingisn’t great for you, but my thought has always been that anything that grows out of the ground or on a tree is ok in my book. And if you read this blog on a regular basis, you know that I loooove me some fruit!

Thoughts??

7 responses to “The Wizard of Oz

  1. I think sugar in fruit is absolutely fine. It’s natural, and usually not that much when you compare it to something like a sugary yogurt. And I think most fruits have some degree of natural sugar alcohols, which don’t get fully digested. Plus fruits have such great fiber and vitamin benefits. You could just eat the peel of an apple to get the nutrients and discard all the rest(I saw someone on Oprah actually do this) but that seems a bit wasteful.

  2. Banana Bread Oats and a Milkshake?! MMM!

    Fruit is nature’s way of satisfying your sweet tooth and I say to embrace it! LOVE FRUIT! πŸ˜€

  3. Three thumbs up to fruit! There’s no reason to completely avoid it…even people watching their sugar intake (diabetics, for example) can include fruit into their diet, in moderation, for its natural sweetness and health benefits. πŸ˜€

  4. I read about that on Heather’s blog and it really got me thinking that maybe I should take it back a notch some days with the fruit. I still don’t think I’ve found the right proportions of foods that are “right” for me because I experience stomachaches and other uncomfortable symptoms all the time.

    I’ve read Intuitive Eating which really focuses on just eating what sounds good, is natural and stopping when you’re full. That advice is all good and well until you find that your stomach is screaming at you and you don’t know what you did to jack it all up….

    Sorry for the essay but this topic is in my head right now and I’m just not sure how to address it. I too, love the fruit!

  5. wizard of oz was one of my favorite movies as a child πŸ™‚ I always used top pretend i was dorothy and my brother was toto.. thinking back now that was very cruel of me!

    i read that on heathers blog as well and though i don’t eat too much fruit — i definitely think it has it’s benefits as long as you don’t OD on it.. but like you said, too much of anything isnt good! all about moderation, right?!

  6. I watched The Wizard of Oz last night too!! I love that movie!

    Have you tried the coconut cream pie Lara? Apple Pie used to be my favorite but CCP blows it out of the water!

    I don’t really have a sweet tooth so I don’t crave fruit. My one apple a day is perfectly fine by me but I’m with you, everything in moderation is fine πŸ™‚

  7. i think fruit is totally fine – really, it is up to the person. for some, it bothers them, but it is one of my fave things in the world. i’ve had like 6 cups today…oops!

Leave a Reply

