A Guacamole Kind of Day

I totally did not sleep well last night! I woke up at 2:30 to the sounds of firecrackers outside. Grrr… Shortly thereafter, the baby woke up, so I had to get up to feed her. I had some trouble falling back to sleep after that. She woke up again at 5:30 and, despite that fact that I was wiped out, I didn’t go back to bed.

I came downstairs a little after 6, and for a brief moment, I thought about having something different for breakfast. But I took one look at my beautifully overripe bananas and I just knew I had to go with the usual – Banana Bread Oats with scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg).

Always satisfying; never disappoints!

Always satisfying; never disappoints!

I was dragging all more and, as I’ve mentioned before, being overtired really affects my appetite. I was STARVING all morning. I threw together a morning snack around 9:30 – 1/2 of a Whole Soy & Co. vanilla soy yogurt, 1 chopped apple, a little blob of almond buttery goodness.

blog 002

Unfortunately, this snack didn’t stay with me for very long. I ended up eating my lunch just and hour later – leftover sweet potato oven fries with a chicken/mustard/lettuce wrap. I loaded this baby with chicken!!

blog 003

Baby was badly in need of a nap around 11 (she’s usually taken at lest 1 nap by then) – and so was mama. I took her upstairs and we curled up on my bed and slept until 12:15. Just what I needed!

By 1, I was in need of a little snack. I made a smoothie with 3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, ~1/4 cup of OJ, frozen blackberries and raspberries, a couple fresh strawberries, and 2 tbs of soy protein powder. (Side note – I’m really looking forward to the day when I can have dairy again! I miss my chocolate whey protein shakes with banana! I wonder, though, how my body will respond to dairy after not having it for so long…)

blog 004

It was a beautiful summer afternoon – and I had 2 ripe avocados on my counter. Obviously I just had to make guacamole! For some reason, I equate guacamole with summertime. I do make it occasionally in the winter, but it just always seems like a summertime cookout food to me.

blog 005

Of course I had to taste my guac when it was ready! 😉

*Little guacamole tip: Save one of the avocado pits to put in the center of the guacamole. It keeps it from browning in the fridge!

After I made my glorious guac, I headed into the basement for a sweat-pouring 40-minute ride on my Spinning bike. I don’t feel like I’ve gotten a good ride unless I’m dripping sweat, and I was definitely soaked today!

Dinner tonight centered around my homemade guac – ground turkey taco salads! The addition of the guacamole to this dinner staple of mine really made it more satisfying. It’s been 2 hours since I ate and I’m not hungry yet. That’s an accomplishment for me!! 😀

blog 006

******************************************************************

Well, now I have to throw a bit of seriousness into this post….

Last year, in addition to my full-time job and my own personal workouts, I was teaching 5+ Spinning classes a week – often teaching 2 a day. At the time, I was eating virtually no fat. I threw some flaxseed into my morning oatmeal and that was about it. My morning eggs were Egg Beaters instead, I shied away from nuts and things like guacamole (with all that heart-healthy avocado) were a once-in-a-while indulgence for me.

I spent a lot of time obsessing about what I ate. Should I have eaten that? Oh, I shouldn’t have that because I’ve already had too many carbs today.

Without going into a lot of detail, a visit to the doctor served as a wake up call for me with regard to fat intake (or lack thereof). I started incorporating more nuts, etc. into my diet. I started to feel so much better. I didn’t even realize how much I had been dragging before.

I started to get a little more relaxed about my food, which is, I think, the way I come across on this blog.

Now for the confession – lately I’ve had some of those obsessive thoughts creeping back into my head. Did I have too much fat today? Too many carbs? How many calories have I eaten?

With that off my chest, let me tell you what my goal is. My goal is to simple focus on the quality of my food, not carb/fat/protein/calorie totals and to focus on staying active. Now, I’m not going to lie – I will probably still assess my intake at the end of the day to ensure that I’m not eating all fat and no protein, or all carbs and no fat. But I really want to clean up my attitude toward food so I can set a good example for my baby girl!

3 responses to “A Guacamole Kind of Day

  1. I think your goal sounds smart. Be a great example for your little girl. Be the woman she’ll want to become.

    You are fantastic and NOT defined by a number attached to carbs or fat. Your daughter will love YOU, not you plus or minus X amount of fat.

    *hug*

  2. Thanks for the guac tip!! I would have never guessed that!

    Don’t worry too much about the nitty-gritty of eating! It takes the fun out of it. Setting a good example is a great goal but like Erin said, at the end of the day your daughter is going to love you for you!

  3. mmm your guacamole looks super yummy and i don’t even like guac – so thats saying a lot!

    there are times when i too feel like i’m getting too obsessive about the nutritional content of food (cals, fat, carbs, etc) but then i realize that i just need to focus on my body and responding to it’s hunger and cravings. . our bodies will not let us down!

Leave a Reply

