Happy 4th!

Happy 4th of July everyone! Hope you all did something fun today!

It was just another day here in our household. I was able to stay in bed until almost 7, which was nice. We still had two extremely ripe bananas so, guess what I had for breakfast?! Banana Bread Oats!

blog 007

I’ve been using oatmeal for my breakfast for the last several days because we have so much of it. It’s yummy, but I’m definitely missing my oat bran! Oat bran puffs up so much when it cooks so it fills me up so much more. Oat bran is first on my list of things to buy when I get to New Hampshire!

Anyway, I also had 1/2 cup of egg white + 1 whole egg scrambled on the side.

blog 008

After lazing around the house this morning and enjoying some cinnamon-infused decaf coffee, I finally got myself put together around 10. Afterward, it was time for a snack – a bowl of strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries.

blog 009

Lunch today was a yummy La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla filled with guacamole, chicken, lettuce, and tomato. I also had a golden delicious apple (not pictured) on the side.

blog 010

Early in the afternoon, we made a run to Target to get some more bubble wrap for packing. That was about the most exciting thing we did today! Quite the holiday.

When we got home, I went into the basement to work out – Levels 1 & 2 of Biggest Loser Bootcamp. Like I said before, Bob Harper works me out just as hard if not harder than Jillian Michaels. But because of his style, he doesn’t seem like a crazy person!

After my work out, I needed a snack of course – Fiber One with almond milk. I wolfed it down so fast, I forgot to take a picture!

We spent the late afternoon listening to music and packing some more. I had several sips off the hubby’s beer in the process. I didn’t feel like drinking a whole beer…although I took enough sips (or gulps) throughout the afternoon that I probably had at least 1/2 a beer.

For dinner, I was planning to make Shrimp Fra Diavolo. As soon as I got started cooking, I realized I was out of cooking wine and parsley! So I had to improvise. Instead of using oregano, basil, and parsley, I just used italian seasoning. And I put in some extra tomatoes and onions. As usual, I was a little heavy-handed with the red pepper so it was a tad spicy! It was good, but definitely not quite as good without the wine.

blog 011

A couple of the shrimp tasted a little off to me. Hopefully I don’t get sick tomorrow!

For dessert, I brewed some more cinnamon-infused decaf coffee. I stuck it in the fridge so I can make iced coffee. I’m hoping it’s almost ready!

Leave a Reply

