Sleepless Sunday

Baby woke up at 3:30 am and would NOT go back to sleep! Long story short, I’m running on very little sleep today.

I went with cold cereal for breakfast this morning – a mix of ~1cup of Fiber One, 1 tbs of raisins, 1 tbs of walnuts, 6 almonds (chopped), 1 sliced banana, and ~ 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk served alongside 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, scrambled.

blog 012

blog 013

Morning snacks were an apple and a Chocolate-Strawberry Almond-Milkshake. I added 1 tbs of soy protein powder to my shake today. It was delicious! (I added a little extra cocoa powder to mask the soy protein. It’s not the greatest tasting stuff.)

blog 014

I was dragging all morning (which also means I was starving!). I grabbed several more handfuls of cereal out of the box, got myself put together, and took the baby out to Babies ‘r’ Us to get her some onesies.

When i got home I threw together a quick lunch plate – sliced chicken breast with mustard, a La Tortilla Factory tortilla (eaten as is), and a couple slices of cantaloupe. I actually ended up not eating the cantaloupe. It had sort of a moldy taste to it. Bummer.

blog 015

I took a quick 20-minute nap on the couch this afternoon…and then ate some more! I had a small banana with my homemade almond butter. Tasty! (No pic though.)

For dinner, I baked some chicken with salt and pepper drizzled with balsamic reductionΒ and served it with Kashi 7-Whole Grain Pilaf (LOVE this stuff!!), and Wilted Balsamic Spinach.

blog 016

Talk about a well-balanced plate – leafy greens, lean protein, whole grains, and some healthy fat (EVOO in the spinach). Perfect!

I had decided this afternoon that I would take the day off from exercise since I was so exhausted. Well, after dinner, I finally felt awake and fueled so I hopped on my Spinning bike. I got about 27 minutes done when the hubby came down to let me know that the baby had woken up and would not go back to sleep. That was the end of my ride. Better than no ride though.

I proceeded to spend the next 2 hours trying to put an overtired baby to bed. What a struggle! She’s finally asleep now and I am typing as fast as I can!

Off to dream about my Banana Bread Oats! πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Sleepless Sunday

  1. Yikes! Poor thing… frankly whenever I’m tired, I get hungry, but my choices aren’t nearly as healthy as yours so kudos on that!

    Hope you and baby got a good night’s sleep!

  2. 3AM is a leeeeeeetle to early πŸ˜‰ Hope you got some rest last night!!

    That balsamic reduction sounds amazing!

  3. good luck with le bebe – you go get some sleep and then devour a delish bowl of banana oats, stat! happy Monday!

  4. aw so sorry you haven’t been getting much rest recently.. hopefully you’ll be able to enjoy some peace and quiet today πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

