A Scorcher!

I was an absolute scorcher here today! The great thing about CO, though, is that even on hot days, it’s nice and cool in the morning – perfect for a hot breakfast!

Are you sick of looking at my oatmeal yet?! I’m not sick of eating it, that’s for sure!

Mmmm...look at all those walnuts! Drool!

Mmmm...look at all those walnuts! Drool!

I had my usual scrambled egg mixture (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg) too, but my camera batteries died right after I photographed my oatmeal, so no more pictures until much later!

I wish I could say I did something productive today…but I really didn’t do much of anything. Well, I did apply for 3 jobs online before 7am, so I guess that’s something!

Around9:45, my tummy started growling (I ate breakfast at 5:30!). I felt more like eating lunch food than snack food, so I just went with it and had deli chicken slices with mustard, a whole wheat tortilla, and leftover spaghetti squash.

I made a run to the store late morning to get batteries for my camera, so I was able to photograph my “snack” which I had around lunchtime – another smoothie. Perfect for this hot day!

blog 022

In the mix:

  • 1 medium overripe banana
  • ~1 1/2 tbs of cocoa powder
  • 3 tbs soy protein powder
  • 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk

I spent the early afternoon watching the Michael Jackson memorial on TV. It was too hot to be doing anything outside. While I watched it, I was inspired to do another all MJ ride on my Spinning bike. I plopped baby in her bouncy seat in front of my bike and was able to ride 40 minutes straight. Thank you, baby! 🙂

For an afternoon snack, I had a small apple and some dry Fiber One cereal (eaten with my hands, of course!). I attempted to exercise some portion control by pouring 1 serving into a cereal bowl rather than eating it out of the box with my hands. It didn’t work; I still went back for a couple extra handfuls! 😀

blog 023

I was quite pleased with dinner tonight! It was tasty and served a purpose – using things up from the refrigerator! I made salads with romaine lettuce, tomato, red onion, salsa, guacamole (leftover from the weekend), and grilled chicken seasoned with a mixture of cumin, chili powder, salt, and pepper. YUM!!!

blog 024

I had a couple raisins after dinner. Raisins are one of those foods that I can’t control myself around (odd as that may seem). Over the course of the day, I grab a few here and there. Probably if I added up all the raisins I eat between breakfast and bedtime, it’s well over 2 servings! Yikes…but yum!

Not much on the agenda tomorrow, other than staying out of the heat and applying to more jobs!

3 responses to “A Scorcher!

  1. I’m jealous of your cool mornings. I live in AZ and it’s close to 100 degrees when I wake up… leaving no room for hot meals 😦

  2. i always try to practice portion control and end up going back, haha! i think we are going to need to brainstorm a new method!

    yay for oats – i never get sick of em!

  3. i don’t know if i could ever get sick of oatmeal pics 🙂

    good luck with the job hunt!!

Leave a Reply

