When It Rains, It Pours

Wow…what a day! (and I say that not-so-enthusiastically…)

I was up at 5 with baby. She was ready to start her day, which meant I had to start mine. We came downstairs and I fixed the usual breakfast for myself around 5:30 – Banana Bread Oats and 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg.

Scrum-diddly-umptious!

Scrum-diddly-umptious!

blog 008

I spent the morning packing up the rest of my clothes for the move. I had a snack mid-morning (well, mid-morning for me – it was only about 8:30). I had the usual apple.

I also had an early lunch since I’d been up since 5 – leftover chicken breast with baby carrots and Sonny’ & Joe’s Hummus Galilee. The more I eat this hummus, the more I love it!

blog 009

After lunch, I put myself together and went on a Starbucks/Target run. When I was sitting at the drive-thru at Starbucks, I looked back and noticed that one of the back windows in my Jeep was halfway down. Let me back up to a couple of days ago… I put the window down a bit so baby could get some air while I was waiting for the A/C to kick in. When I tried to put it back up, it went up part of the way and then made this God-awful squealing noise. The window stopped about 3 inches short of closed. “No biggie,” I thought. “We’ll just get it fixed when we get back to NH.” Back to today… That very same window slowly fell until it was eventually all the way down. It will not go back up. I can hear the motor when I press the button, but no action from the window. This is just about the last thing we need right now while we’re in the midst of moving stress and unemployment stress. We do have a warranty, but the kicker is that we have to find somewhere that can fix it by Wednesday morning, when the hubby sets off on the cross-country drive.

It really is true what they say – when it rains, it pours!Ironically, it really did end up pouring this afternoon and we had to rig up some plastic over the window. Jeeze… Can’t I catch a break?!

Anyway… I ended up turning around before I got to Target. I didn’t want to park the Jeep with a gaping window in the Target parking lot. It would have just been the icing on the cake if someone stole the stroller out of the back while I was in there; or better yet, stole the car!

I consoled myself by eating a Cherry Pie Larabar on my way home.

Recycled picture.

Recycled picture.

The rest of the afternoon was spent doing some more packing. I did take a break for food and fitness – an Orange Creamsicle Protein Smoothie and Levels 1 & 2 of Biggest Loser Bootcamp.

3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, 1/2 cup of OJ, 3 tbs of soy protein powder, ice

3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, 1/2 cup of OJ, 3 tbs of soy protein powder, ice

Dinner was quick and easy – Kashi Sicilian Veggie Pizza. I bought this one because it doesn’t have cheese (still can’t have dairy). It’s a vegan pizza with curly kale, eggplant, roasted red peppers, caramelized onions, and a balsamic-infused white bean tomato sauce.

blog 011

blog 012

Honestly, this pizza was just ok. It didn’t really do it for me. It was lacking in the taste department. Great nutritional stats, just a little bland. I much prefer the Amy’s Roasted Vegetable Pizza.

Well…I’m off to do more packing (and perhaps throw myself a little pity party).

5 responses to “When It Rains, It Pours

  1. That Amy’s pizza is the best, isn’t it?! Love it!

    Sorry about the window issue! We used to have the same problem in one of our cars except it wouldn’t go down at all which still sucked 😦

  2. oh you poor thing – just keep on swimming! good things are coming your way – perhaps more cherry pie larabars?

  3. peanutbutterandjenny

    aw so sorry about the window — i know that’s the last thing you need right now — especially with the move coming up! hang in there girl!

  4. I hope the Cherry pie Larabar cheered you up! Your oats look delicious, by the way. Yummmy.

  5. Pingback: Goodbye Colorado « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

