Unbalanced Eating

My diet has been pretty unbalanced this past week since I have been at the mercy of other people’s cooking and eating on the run. Today, in particular, was very heavy on the fat and very low on the protein. I need to get back on the wagon tomorrow….

I was up early today – 5 am. I guess I’m adjusted to Eastern Time! I fixed myself a big bowl of Banana Bread Oat Bran with scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg).

blog 010

blog 011

**This is where the pictures stop. I was a bad food blogger today!

Late in the morning, hubby, baby, and I headed off to my sister’s house for a little cookout. (I ate an apple on the way.) It was a gorgeous day! This was where the eating got a little off track though… I had lots of fresh veggies – nothing bad there. Then I got into the tortilla chips and salsa – not the greatest choice with the chips. Then it really went to hell when I ate a breaded chicken patty! That is something I never, ever eat. It’s certainly not the type of thing I would buy for myself at the store. Ugh. I immediately regretted eating it.

I attempted to undo a little bit of the poor eating by having another apple after lunch.

We spent most of the afternoon at my sister’s and stopped off at my grandparents’ house on the way home since they hadn’t seen the baby yet.

When we got home, I decided to make an early dinner since we still had to give baby a bath and put her to bed – plus I wanted to exercise.

For dinner, I did up some sesame crusted tofu on top of a bed of romaine, carrots, and red onions. I pan fried the tofu in a little olive oil. For the dressing, I mixed together olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, and chili powder. It was really good…but I ate way more than my share of tofu. I had about 2 and a half servings.

I started to do Biggest Loser Bootcamp after baby was in bed, but she woke up after 25 minutes. To make a long story short, I didn’t get back to my video for another 2 hours! I did manage to complete all 3 levels, even though it was spread out over a long period of time.

For an evening snack, I had about a serving (give or take) of Fiber One right out of the box.

After reviewing my eats, most of the fat I consumed was healthy fat (walnuts, flaxseed, olive oil, tofu – although I went a little overboard on the tofu). Too much of anything though isn’t great for you – and I really could have done without the unhealthy fat from the breaded chicken patty.

My goal for the week: get back on track with my food!

One response to “Unbalanced Eating

  1. yay for making it to NH! glad to hear about the interviews and you are back with those yummy oatmeal concotions! yay for that!

Leave a Reply

