The Arrival of Summer!

Well, summer has finally arrived here in New Hampshire…now that it’s almost August! It was hot and extremely humid here today. I was so spoiled living in Colorado for the past year with no humidity.

I got up around 7:15 today and already felt a little sticky from the humidity. That didn’t stop me from enjoying a hot breakfast though – and yes, I was sweating the entire time I was eating! πŸ™‚ I made Banana Bread Oatmeal with scrambled eggs. I used 3/4 cup of oats for today’s bowl.

blog 001

I have to admit, this wasn’t my best bowl of oats. It seemed to be lacking something. I don’t think I put in enough cinnamon for my taste.

I know that many of you out there in the blog world often put nut butter on your oats. Another confession – I’ve never tried this! I’m thinking tomorrow I will use some of my new almond butter (which I am addicted to!!) on my oats. Can’t wait!

Baby was kind of cranky and tired today, so I spent the morning hanging around the house with her. The two of us took a nice hour-long nap together around 10:45. Very refreshing!

After I got up, I had sort of an odd lunch – a few slices of low-sodium deli chicken with mustard and a Chocolate Coconut Chew Larabar. Nothing beats chocolate for lunch!! πŸ˜‰

blog 002

After lunch, baby and I hopped in the car for the 25-minute drive to my mom’s. We visited there for a bit, then I went to check out a natural foods store I’ve never been to. I picked up just a few things – Almond Breeze, organic mushrooms (only 99 cents!), an organic apple (which I ate on the way home), and a packet of Biochem 100% Vegan Vanilla Protein Powder.

blog 003

When I got home, I threw the protein powder in the blender with some unsweetened vanilla almond milk and ice. Holy yum! It was like drinking yellow cake batter! And it packed 20 g of protein from peas, hemp, and cranberries.

blog 004

Dinner was one of my classics – Spaghetti Squash “Spaghetti” with Ground Turkey Meat Sauce. Always hits the spot!

blog 005

After dinner, I bathed baby and put her to bed. Then it was off to the basement for Levels 1, 2, and 3 of Biggest Loser Bootcamp. I was a sweaty mess after I was finished, partly from the workout and partly from the oppressive humidity. Definitely time for a shower!

I’m contemplating a small glass of wine before I hit the shower…

Goodnight! πŸ™‚

6 responses to “The Arrival of Summer!

  1. yay for vegan protein powder – that looks AWESOME!

  2. Almond butter on oatmeal is the best, couldn’t have it any other way!

  3. I still have to try that Lara – did you like it? Ew to the humidity 😦 It’s humid today in MI and I don’t like it!

    That protein powder sounds incredible!! Cake batter? Yes, please!

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      K – the Chocolate Coconut Chew Larabar is amazing! If you love chocolate, you’ll definitely like it. It tastes so decadent! πŸ™‚

  4. Never put almond butter on your oats? I think you must. Here’s a tip: Don’t stir it in. Just plop it in the center, take a mini scoop from there and fill your spoon with oats from the side. That way you get the purest flavor

  5. peanutbutterandjenny

    haha it’s about time summer showed up!

Leave a Reply

