Beach Day!

I was up at 6:45, feeling dead tired for some reason. I did have to get up with baby at 3:30, and didn’t get back into bed until 4, so that probably had something to do with it.

I was really looking forward to breakfast today – my first time with nut butter on my oats! This morning’s bowl contained a heaping 1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 banana, a generous amount of cinnamon, a splash of vanilla, raisins, 2 tbs of flaxseed, and 1 tbs of almond butter.

blog 006

I love melty nut butter and warm banana. Mmmm! I kind of missed the crunch of chopped nuts in my oatmeal though. But I’m sure almond butter-enhanced oats will become a more regular thing for me!

I also had some scrambled eggs – 3/4 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg.

blog 007

I think my eyes were bigger than my stomach this morning. About 2/3 of the way through my breakfast I started to feel really full – like disgustingly full! I’m never one to waste food though! 😉

It was a gorgeous day today, although it was pretty humid; so I took baby for a walk around 11. I ate a apple while I was walking.

By the time we got home, it was noon – lunchtime! I put together a big salad with organic romaine lettuce, carrots, red onion, tomato, chickpeas, deli chicken, and balsamic vinegar. A very filling combination of fiber and protein!

blog 008

I wasn’t really hungry after eating my lunch, but I was dying to try my Cinnamon Roll Larabar. I only ate about 1/3 of it but….YUM!! This is probably up in my top 3 or 4 favorite flavors.

blog 009

Around 3, I was ready for a snack. I made a chocolate-strawberry protein shake with 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 3 tbs of soy protein, about 5 frozen strawberries, and waaaay too much cocoa powder! Note to self: not a good idea to just tip the cocoa canister into the blender; best to measure! 🙂 This tasted good nonetheless.

blog 010

Late in the afternoon, the hubby and I decided to take baby to the lake for the first the first time. She loved it! I figured she would though; she loves taking baths!

Since we went to the lake rather late, I got a late start on dinner and ended up not eating until 7:45ish. I had picked up some Annie Chun’s Pad Thai at the grocery store over the weekend at the hubby’s suggestion. I made a meal out of it by adding some sauteed organic mushrooms, red onion, and fresh broccoli from the garden, as well as some Nasoya Lite Firm Tofu that I brushed with soy sauce and baked in the oven.

blog 011

blog 012

Horribly blurry picture - oops!

Horribly blurry picture - oops!

I probably wouldn’t buy this pad thai again. I was surprised how little flavor the sauce had. Plus, rice noodles don’t really offer anything nutritionally so they leave me feeling hungry after dinner.

After dinner, I headed into the basement for a 30-minute ride on my Spinning bike. I was soaked with sweat. ‘Nuff said!

Tomorrow is supposed to be very hot and very humid so I’m planning to spend the whole day at the lake with baby. Yay summer! 😀

6 responses to “Beach Day!

  1. Yay for time at the lake. Growing up in Minnesota I grew up on the lake beaches! Enjoy!

  2. Love nut butter on my oats, I’m a total convert and don’t think I could even eat a bowl without some.

    I’m a bit skeptical on the whole cocoa powder in smoothies idea. I can’t seem to get past the bitterness!

    I don’t think I’ve ever actually had pad thai – good to know not to get that brand though. Have a good day!

  3. I’m loving that GLOB of nut butter – yum! Glad the baby enjoyed the lake!! Hope you guys have fun today 🙂

  4. Ohhh I bought the Cinnamon Roll flaver this week–still need to try it!

  5. peanutbutterandjenny

    nut butter in oats is a [not so secret] obsession of mine — glad you enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

