Hi, I’m Emily and I’m Addicted to Almond Butter!

Since I bagged out on my exercise last night, I decided that, rather than sit in front of the TV, I should go to bed early and hope that baby allowed me to get some sleep. I was in bedreading by 8:30; asleep by 9:30. Sooo glad I turned in early. Baby only got up once, too, so mama is much more rested today!

I had a one track mind when I woke up this morning at 6 – almond butter!!!! I cannot believe that just a couple months ago I hadn’t even tried it before…and just 2 weeks ago I bought my first jar! Seriously, this stuff is like crack for me! I want to put it on everything.

For breakfast, I had 2 slices of sprouted grain toast with crack almond butter and banana, and scrambled egg/egg whites.

blog 026

I may or may not have dipped a spoon into the AB jar before and after my breakfast. 😉

Believe it or not, a half hour after breakfast I was still kind of hungry so I had one of my other new faves:

Plain Oikos + Stevia + Cocoa Powder

Plain Oikos + Stevia + Cocoa Powder

It was a gorgeous day, so I headed to Keene, NH to spend the day walking around in town with my mom and baby. (I ate an apple in the car on the way.)

While we were out, I stopped into a natural foods store and grabbed a couple things. I also treated my mom to some lunch. We both had mixed greens salads with grilled chicken, ham, egg, and dill dressing. I also had a fresh apricot. I had my camera, but forgot to snap a pic. Lunch was good, but not very filling. There was the tiniest portion of chicken and ham on it. Bummer, especially since the salad cost $10!

By the time I got home, I was ravenous. I had a couple snacks:

1) Fiber One with almond milk

blog 028

2) A protein shake made with almond milk and some NutriBiotic Vanilla Rice Protein Powder that I picked up at the store today.

blog 029

Baby was napping, so I didn’t want to run the blender. Instead, I stirred the powder in with a spoon. It was a bit chalky, and the taste was just ok. I probably would have liked it better blended with banana. Then again, I’d probably eat or drink anything blended with banana!

blog 030

This afternoon, the hubby and brother-in-law harvested some zucchini from the garden:

blog 031

Obviously I had to work some of it into my dinner!

I decided to grill some lemon pepper chicken with some zucchini rounds. I put the zucchini into foil packets with some olive oil.

blog 032

blog 033

I sprinkled some chives over the zucchini when it was done. Soooo yummy!

After dinner, I got my butt in gear and did the entire Biggest Loser Bootcamp DVD. I still don’t think I gave it 100% tonight, but at least I did it!

******************************************************************

Yesterday I bought a new book (only because I had a gift certificate for this little bookstore that I’ve been hanging onto for 3 years!). It’s called Waistland: The (R)Evolutionary Science Behind Our Weight and Fitness Crisis. I’m a couple chapters in and it is quite interesting. I’ll give a full review when I finish it.

Besides exercising, reading health/nutrition books is my favorite hobby. I like to take pieces from each one to incorporate into my lifestyle, rather than following a specific “diet.”

What’s your hobby?

6 responses to “Hi, I’m Emily and I’m Addicted to Almond Butter!

  1. I’m learning to golf, my husband is an addict of it in the summers. So rather than stay home alone, I’m learning so I can go and be with him more:)

  2. My name is Alison and I’m addicted to Almond Butter too. Maybe we can go to AB Anon meetings together.

    I’d definitely be curious to hear more about Waistland, sounds intriguing!

  3. YAY for more rest and almond butter! I love that oikos combo – how much cocoa powder did you use?

  4. almond butter = the best. zucchini = also the best.

    hobby….reading and arts n crafts. yes, i am clearly still in 1st grade.

  5. Plain Oikos, Stevia, and Cocoa Powder looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

