The Usual Saturday Routine

Today was the usual Saturday routine – Target and the grocery store. Let me back up to breakfast first…

I was up around 6 and ready for food! I made myself a yummy bowl of oat bran and a plate of scrambled eggs.

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1-1/4 cups of water, 2 tbs of ground flaxseed, cinnamon, vanilla, banana (1/2 mashed, 1/2 sliced on top), raisins, and 1 tbs of almond butter

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1-1/4 cups of water, 2 tbs of ground flaxseed, cinnamon, vanilla, banana (1/2 mashed, 1/2 sliced on top), raisins, and 1 tbs of almond butter

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I also had 2 cups of decaf coffee. (This is a standard part of my breakfast that I typically forget to mention.)

After I got myself and baby put together, we headed out for some lunch and some shopping. I ate an apple in the car on our way.

My aunt had given us a gift card last weekend for Chili’s so we went there for lunch. Not the most nutritious place to eat, but at least they offer some healthier options. I went with the Guiltless Grilled Chicken Sandwich with a side of steamed broccoli, and a side salad with vinegar. (No picture.) The sandwich was better than expected and had pretty good nutritional stats – 360 cals, 5g fat, 36 g protein, 44 g carbs.

While we were shopping, I picked up some plain Chobani yogurt to try. I had planned to buy more Oikos, but I opted for the Chobani because it was cheaper – just 99 cents per 6 oz cup. I decided to try one for an afternoon snack, mixed with my usual Stevia and cocoa powder.

blog 003

blog 004

The verdict: it was good. It was creamier than Oikos and less tangy, which I liked. But it wasn’t as thick as Oikos, which I didn’t like. I’ll probably buy this again though since it is cheaper. I do love the 18g of protein too!

We spent the late afternoon over at my dad’s house where I nibbled a few crackers and enjoyed a small vodka tonic.

We didn’t get home until 5:30 and I still had to feed and bathe baby before putting her to bed. I was surprisingly not that hungry, so I made a simple turkey wrap with mustard for dinner. I also had a few blueberries.

blog 005

Around 7, I headed to the basement for Biggest Loser Bootcamp. I think I’m finally coming out of my exercise funk. I really felt like I gave it my all tonight.

The hubby is out at a friend’s party tonight so I’m here by myself with my sleeping baby. I’m going to take a long, hot shower, do a little reading, and turn in early. The perfect Saturday night for a new mommy! 😀

2 responses to “The Usual Saturday Routine

  1. That is a perfect Saturday night, Enjoy!

  2. Target and grocery stores sound perfect to me 🙂

    Hope you enjoyed your Saturday night!

Leave a Reply

