Back to Basics

Happy Tuesday! I hope you all had a great day. It was a muggy one here in New Hampshire!

Baby woke up around 6:15 as usual this morning. Instead of getting up for the day, I got baby and snuggled her in bed with me and we both went back to sleep until 7:15.

I was looking forward to some almond butter for breakfast when I finally got up! I had 2 slices of sprouted grain toast with almond butter and banana along with 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, scrambled, and a small glass of light vanilla soymilk.

blog 017

While I was cooking my eggs, I also munched on 2 dates stuffed with AB and the other half of my banana.

The hubby and I took baby out to run some errands around 11. Before we left, I had a snack to tide me over until lunch – plain Chobani with Stevia and cocoa powder.

Are you sick of looking at this snack yet?!

Are you sick of looking at this snack yet?!

We got home around 12:30 and I fixed myself some lunch – turkey, lettuce, and roasted red pepper hummus on a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla.

blog 019

I spent the afternoon napping (yeah!), making baby food, and snacking.

Snack #1: Smoothie with soymilk, soy protein powder, frozen strawberries, cocoa powder, and 2 scoops of Oikos

Snack #1: Smoothie with soymilk, soy protein powder, frozen strawberries, cocoa powder, and 2 scoops of Oikos

(I stopped at the store and got a big container of Oikos today because I had a store coupon for $1.00 off. Hooray for coupons! :-D)

Snack #2 (no picture): handfuls of Fiber One and a small apple.

For dinner tonight, my mother-in-law treated us to Chinese food. I love Chinese, but I hate feeling weighed down by the greasiness of it. So I ordered from the “Health Food Selections” section of the menu – steamed chicken and mixed vegetables with sauce on the side. I just drizzled a little of the sauce over my meal. That’s really all you need! I ended up eating the whole container of veggies. There really wasn’t much chicken at all. It was very yummy though!

blog 021

About an hour after dinner, it was time for a cardio workout. I’m feeling a little burnt out on Spinning, so tonight I went back to basics and did some old fashioned calisthenics. For 50 minutes, I did circuits that including jumping jacks, running in place, jumping rope, punches, crunches, and dancing! It was a bit disorganized, but the important thing was that I didn’t stop moving for the whole 50 minutes.

*******************************************************************

Tonight I will leave you with a question….

What foods have you recently discovered that you can’t live without now??

My recently discovered faves are oat bran, almond butter, and Greek yogurt. I eat at least one of these foods (and often all of them) every day. Seriously, how did I get by before I discovered these?! 😉

4 responses to “Back to Basics

  1. I can’t live without flatout bread or la tortilla low carb tortillas… I love bread! ! !

  2. No – I’m not sick of that snack! It sounds delicious!!

    I can’t live without oats these days 🙂

  3. Almond Butter and Greek yogurt are mine too! I just re-discovered Greek yog and am obsessed and AB is literally something I cannot live without now! Ha – ridiculous.

  4. Definitely almond butter and since I’ve been making it on my own I’ve had PLENTY around.
    The Green Smoothies I’ve been making are definitely something I won’t be giving up anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

