Tempeh Time

Wednesday already?! Wow…time flies when you’re unemployed! 😉

Baby was up at 6 like clockwork again today. At least she’s consistent! I fed her and took her in bed with me again to snuggle. We went back  to sleep until about 7:30. That’s definitely sleeping in for me!

I was craving a warm breakfast this morning, so I made Banana Bread Oat Bran with scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg).

blog 022

blog 023

It was a pretty low-key day. I spent the morning playing with baby and applying to more jobs online. It’s so hard to believe that I’ve been unemployed for 2 months. Wow.

For my morning snack, I had my yummy greek yogurt mixture – plain Chobani + Stevia + cocoa powder.

blog 024

My lunch today was A-MA-ZING!! Chicken, roasted red pepper hummus, lettuce, and hot sauce (key ingredient) on a LTF tortilla. I am sooooooo having this for lunch tomorrow – with even more hot sauce!!

blog 025

blog 026

I also had an apple and some frozen berries on the side.

We went out this afternoon for a 30-minute walk. The bugs are outrageous! We would have walked longer, but we were getting eaten alive.

My post walk snack was a bowl of Fiber One with unsweetened soymilk.

blog 027

Other unpicture snacks included a smal date stuffed with almond butter (YUM!) and a tiny banana.

I tried something new for dinner tonight – tempeh; specifically Light Life Organic Flax Tempeh. I marinated my tempeh in a mixture of soy sauce, ginger, and garlic, and baked it in the oven. I served it over a big salad.

I ended up drizzling my salad with a little Newman's Own Light Honey Mustard dressing. Mmmm!

I ended up drizzling my salad with a little Newman's Own Light Honey Mustard dressing. Mmmm!

I really enjoyed the tempeh! The consistency reminded me of a veggie burger. I found it to be much more filling than tofu, too. It’s probably all the protein – 20g in a 4 oz serving! I will definitely be having tempeh again soon.

Tonight I did all 3 levels of Biggest Loser Bootcamp. I was really feeling it tonight. I worked my booty off! Love it.

To cap off my day, I split a beer with the hubby. I was craving a glass of wine, but we don’t have any so I settled for beer.

*******************************************************************

Since entering the blogosphere, I have tried soooo many new foods! I used to be skeptical of trying new things. A few years ago, there is NO WAY I would have eaten tofu or tempeh! Now, I look forward to trying new things – in fact, I get very excited when I find something new at the store to try.

Do you look forward to trying new foods?

4 responses to “Tempeh Time

  1. I love trying new foods, never tried tofu or tempeh! But look forward to trying them soon! Almond butter is my favorite thing to come from the blogworld!

  2. i agree — the blogosphere has openened my eyes to so many new foods that i never would have tried before! case and point — PB&Co .. i never would’ve bought it if it wasnt for the bloggie raves!

  3. I love love love trying new foods! I tried tempeh for the first time recently at a friends’ and actually might be having it tonight since we stocked up! Trying new foods is so exciting, as is trying new restaurants – love doing both.
    Happy Thursday!

  4. yay for tempeh – i love the nutty crunch of that wonder! i am working on concocting all sorts of recipes because IT IS SO GOOD!!!!

    so glad you catch-up with all your eats – happy weekend girl!

Leave a Reply

