Holy Heat and Humidity!

It was so disgustingly hot and humid today! I didn’t feel like doing much of anything. So I didn’t! 🙂

I got up around 6:30, and started my day with a delicious almond butter and banana rollup. I also nibbled some raisins while I was making breakfast.

La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla, almond butter, and banana warmed in the micro. Oooooh yeah!

La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla, almond butter, and banana warmed in the micro. Oooooh yeah!

I also had the usual scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg) and a small glass of unsweetened soymilk.

melty almond butter + warm banana = pure heaven!

melty almond butter + warm banana = pure heaven!

A couple hours after breakfast, I took baby out for a 25-minute walk. Not my smartest idea. Not only was getting hot and muggy out, but the mosquitos were eating us alive. Ooops.

After my walk, it was snack time!

plain Chobani + Stevia + cocoa powder

plain Chobani + Stevia + cocoa powder

blog 004

I spent the rest of the morning making baby food – pureed pears and sweet potatoes. Making your own baby food is so much cheaper – and much more nutritious! I’d rather not feed my baby girl preservatives.

 My mom came over to hang out with us around noon. She brought me a Dunkin Donuts decaf iced coffee. Just what I needed on such a hot day.

Lunch was a repeat of yesterday – turkey, roasted red pepper hummus, spinach and hot sauce on a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla with a side of frozen mixed berries.

blog 005

For an afternoon snack, I had a bowl of Fiber One with unsweetened soymilk and a small apple. (Not sure what happened to the pics I took….)

Around 3:30, I laid down with baby girl and took a much-needed 45-minute nap. I stayed up way too late last night!

Hubby is out of town doing some work with his dad, so I made dinner for one – chicken and veggie stir fry. I love eating plates of veggies as big as my head! 😉

blog 006

After I finally got baby to bed, I felt like I needed something sweet, so I had about 1/3 of a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar. The more often I eat this one, the more I love it! I am always amazed at how much it tastes like an actual cookie. Even the texture is spot on!

blog 007

Despite the heat and oppressive humidity, I forced myself to do all 3 levels of Biggest Loser Bootcamp. Total. Sweaty. Mess.

It’s supposed to be even hotter tomorrow, so I’ll probably stay indoors. Perhaps I’ll venture out for a quick dip in the lake…

*******************************************************************

So, last night, while I was out eating some very rich food for my anniversary, I couldn’t help but feel guilty – especially about dessert. I know I shouldn’t feel that way. I rarely splurge like that. But I couldn’t help it. I just kept trying to remind myself that one day does not make you fat.

Do you suffer from food splurge guilt? How do you keep yourself from feeling guilty?

6 responses to “Holy Heat and Humidity!

  1. Knowing I’ll run it off or eat healthier the next day, makes a treat okay for me!

  2. I feel ya on the humidity! It’s insane lately!! I don’t feel bad for splurging at events because I know that I eat healthy the other 95% of the time.

  3. I do suffer from food splurge guilt…I have no IDEA’s for cures!

    my husband just laughs at my dilemmas!

    sigh!
    Good for you for making your own baby food…I do the same! it’s SO rewarding!

  4. I LOVED making my own baby food for my girls. I didn’t do it all the time (although I would now!) but Cindy is right… it’s rewarding and better for them too.

  5. Loving all the wraps in this post! That breakfast one looks amazing! Must try!

    I often do feel guilty if I overindulge. I have no problem indulging lightly – it’s when I pig out that I feel bad. Normally the guilt subsides after a day and some reflection on the fact that it’s not going to ruin my health to let go for a day.

    Hope you stay cool today!

  6. ah the humidity has been crazy as of late — my hair is not diggin’ it! stay cool my love 🙂

Leave a Reply

