Today is my lucky day!

I had lots of good fortune today! But I’ll get to that in a minute…

Baby broke from our usual routine of going back to sleep around 6:30 this morning. She got up at 6 and stayed up – so I did too!

I finally got around to making breakfast a little after 7 (unusual for me – I usually head straight for the kitchen!). What could possibly be better on a muggy morning that a hot bowl of oat bran?! Ok, ok…not the smartest idea. I was sweating through the entire bowl But it tasted damn good!

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 banana, vanilla, cinnamon, raisins, 2 tbs ground flaxseed, and 7 walnut halves, chopped

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 banana, vanilla, cinnamon, raisins, 2 tbs ground flaxseed, and 7 walnut halves, chopped

Naturally I had my usual scrambled eggs on the side.

2nd Anniversary 002

Midmorning, I took baby over to my dad’s house with me for a bit. While I was there, I checked my e-mail while eating some Chobani (no pic today). I was so psyched to find an e-mail inviting me back for a third (and final!) interview for that supercool job in CT!! Totally psyched! I had all but given up on that job. Finally, something went my way!

I came home from my dad’s around noon, put baby down for a nap, and fixed myself some lunch – almond butter and banana sandwich on French Meadow Bakery Women’s Bread

1 tbs almond butter and 1/2 banana

1 tbs almond butter and 1/2 banana

I plopped myself in front of the computer while I was eating so I could catch up on some blogs. It was then that I discovered I won Heather’s amazing giveaway! Thank you, Heather!! Could today get any better?! It was totally my lucky day. 😀

Later in the afternoon, hubby and I went back over to my dad’s for a while. I ate an apple on my way out.

2nd Anniversary 004

At my dad’s, I let loose a bit and enjoyed a gin & tonic. Before we moved away a few years ago, I almost always went to my dad’s on Friday afternoon for a “g&t.” Good times. 🙂

Dinner was yet another quick and easy standby tonight – turkey taco salads. I usually use store bought taco spice, but tonight I just spiced my meat with a mixture of cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper.

2nd Anniversary 005

For my exercise this evening, I used my new DVD that just came in the mail – Biggest Loser Power Sculpt. I loved the Bootcamp video so much, I decided to stick with the Biggest Loser series. I did all 3 levels. Tough stuff! Jillian Michaels leads the longest segment. Ouch. I’m going to be sore tomorrow.

*******************************************************************

It was interesting to hear what you all had to say about Larabars and satiety (or lack there of in some cases).

Tonight’s random musing is all about vegetarianism.

I’ve been contemplating going veg recently; mostly for the purposes of trying to eliminate saturated animal fat from my diet – though I tend to choose very lean animal proteins anyway. If I did go veg, I would likely go lacto-ovo (still eating eggs and dairy) or pescetarian (eggs, dairy, and fish).

What are your thoughts on vegetarianism? If you are a vegetarian, do you eat that way for moral reasons, health reasons, or both?

6 responses to “Today is my lucky day!

  1. Woohoo for all the good news! Congrats on winning and good luck on your interview 🙂

    I’m a vegetarian because I don’t like the taste of meat – never have! Then as I learned about all the horror stories and health side effects I can’t imagine eating meat again.

  2. Congrats on being called back for the final interview! Fingers crossed for you!

    When I first became a veg it was for health reasons. But the more I read and learn about the ways the majority of animals are treated/slaughtered in this country, I feel like my reasons for being a vegetarian are for both health and ethical reasons.

    I was one of those people who thought I could never give up meat, my biggest “thing” was turkey subs! They were my fav. But I’ve come to figure out I love veggie subs just as much – I don’t even miss the turkey. I don’t miss meat at all actually, vegetarianism is totally normal and feels very natural to me now.

  3. ah YES congrats on the job interview!!! you go girl! i knew things would work themselves out for you!

    hmm – as far as vegetarianism .. perosnally, i know i could never do it. Though I have warded off red meat I just don’t know if i could go without turkey, chicken and fish. If you are considering it though they do have some great meatless products (tofurky is actually awesome!) and i loveeeee veggie burgers!

  4. Brilliant news on the job front!! Wishing you so much luck for the final interview!
    Gin and Tonic fridays sounds like a stellar plan to me! One of my all-time favorite adult beverages.
    Oh and yay for the AB and banana sarnie – so good.

  5. Pingback: What’s Your Real Age? « Healthy Fit Mama

  6. Congrats on the interview!

    I definitely could never go vegetarian. I like chicken waaaay too much. Even though I don’t eat red meat very often at all, I love a nice big steak every once in a while – like twice a year 🙂

Leave a Reply

