Grocery Shopping, Wine, and Exercise…

These are just a few of the things my Saturday included. Let me start at the beginning…

I got up to get baby at 6:15 and brought her into bed with me. We went back to sleep until 7:45! So refreshing.

When I got up, I knew I wanted some crack almond butter. I put together a delicious almond butter and banana rollup with raisins on a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla, warmed in the microwave for 30 seconds – just enough to make it nice and melty. I also had the usual scrambled egg/egg whites and a glass of unsweetened soymilk (to wash down the gooey almond butter!).

blog 001

blog 002

Late in the morning, we ventured out for the usual Saturday grocery shopping. I grabbed an apple on the way out.

blog 003

We ended up stopping over at my mom’s house before we shopped, so by the time we got in the car to head home, I was getting pretty darn hungry. I split a Chocolate Brownie Pure Bar with the hubby in the car. I love this bar! It’s so decadent.

blog 009

After I got all the groceries put away, I made some lunch: deli chicken with roasted red pepper hummus, spinach and hot sauce on another LTF tortilla, followed by a plain Chobani mixed with cocoa powder and stevia.

blog 004

blog 005

Afternoon snacks included a banana and a few handfuls of Fiber One right our of the box.

blog 006

Late in the afternoon I laid down and took a nap with baby for about an hour. Somehow I was more tired after I woke up… Must be the heat.

When I got up, I started putting dinner together. While I was cooking, I enjoyed a nice, chilled glass of wine.

blog 007

I’m trying to get myself out of a dinner rut. I seem to be making the same things over and over and over again. So I went with something different tonight – baked haddock with dill and lemon, wilted spinach with garlic, and roasted eggplant (fresh from my dad’s garden!).

blog 008

This was so delicious and satisfying! It was a really nice change from the same old meals.

An hour or so after dinner, it was time for some exercise. I did 42 minutes on my Spinning bike. I was really into it tonight! It really reminded me how much I enjoy exercising – not just for the physical benefits; for the mental ones too. Riding on my bike is the perfect time for me to reflect and clear my head.

*******************************************************************

While I was at the store today, I wanted to pick up another jar of almond butter (God forbid I run out!!). I usually by an all natural, store brand roasted almond butter, but they were all out! So the next cheapest thing (yes, I’m a slave to the prices!) was Maranatha raw almond butter. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m curious to see if I’ll like it as much as roasted almond butter.

Have you tried raw almond butter? Which do you prefer – roasted or raw?

2 responses to “Grocery Shopping, Wine, and Exercise…

  1. Maranatha is my favorite, so you can’t go wrong there!

  2. almond butter is in fact crack! i am completely addicted …though i’ve never tried the maranatha.. sounds divine 🙂

Leave a Reply

