Sleepless in NH

I absolutely could not sleep last night – and I couldn’t figure out why. I was very tired; my mind wasn’t racing. I just couldn’t sleep. It wasn’t until this morning that I figured it out. Last night, around 8, I made what I thought was decaf coffee and had one cup. Come to find out, it was regular! I haven’t had regular coffee in about a year! It’s no wonder I couldn’t sleep. And boy did I pay the price today…

Baby wasn’t interested in going back to sleep with me this morning, so I was up pretty early. I couldn’t decide what I wanted for breakfast. I really wanted almond butter, but I also really wanted oats. So I had oat bran with a generous blob of almond butter. This really isn’t my favorite way to enjoy my almond butter. I don’t know why. But since I couldn’t decide between almond butter/banana toast and banana oats, I thought I’d just go ahead and have almond butter banana oats.

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 banana, cinnamon, vanilla, raisins, 2 tbs ground flaxseed, and ~1tbs of almond butter

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 banana, cinnamon, vanilla, raisins, 2 tbs ground flaxseed, and ~1tbs of almond butter

And of course, my scrambled eggs on the side.

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

The hubby was doing some painting a couple towns over, so mid-morning, baby and I went to visit him. I stopped on the way and got us Dunkin’ Donuts decaf iced coffees.

I came back to the house and made myself a protein packed lunch.

salald with chicken, roasted red pepper hummus, and hot sauce

salald with chicken, roasted red pepper hummus, and hot sauce

plain Chobani with cocoa powder and Stevia

plain Chobani with cocoa powder and Stevia

In the afternoon, I got a call asking if I could go down to CT for my third interview for this job tomorrow. My answer – absolutely! I have to be in CT for a 1:00 interview tomorrow afternoon. So excited!

Back to the eats… I got snacky around 3, so I had a Cherry Pie Larabar (I told you I couldn’t completely stay away from the Laras!) and a tiny bowl (about 1/2 a serving) of Fiber One with a splash of unsweetened soymilk.

blog 009

blog 010

I was pretty exhausted by late afternoon today, so the hubby convinced me to go take a nap while baby was napping. So glad I followed that advice! I slept for about an hour. And boy did I need it.

Once I got up, I went right to work prepping dinner. On the menu this evening: stuffed peppers. I used yellow bell peppers, 1 onion, 1/2 lb of extra lean ground turkey, 1/2 cup of cooked brown rice, and 1 can of tomato sauce.

blog 011

blog 012

blog 013

I meant to save some of the sauce to pour over the top, but I forgot. Ooops.

After I ate my pepper, I ended up having some leftover salad from the fridge.

blog 014

Hubby fed baby and put her to bed tonight, so I was able to get in a 45-minute ride on my Spinning bike. I am a complete and total sweaty mess right now.

After I hopped off my bike, I was hit with a snack attack. So I gobbled up the remainder of the Fiber One box (~1/3 cup).

*******************************************************************

Right now, I can’t seem to go a day without my Chobani. I also can’t have my breakfast without a banana. I will make a special trip to the store at night if it means I will be able to have my morning banana!

Do you have particular foods that you have to have every day?

*******************************************************************

More giveaway news: Check out Heather’s awesome Chobani giveaway!!

5 responses to “Sleepless in NH

  1. Mine is a banana and almond butter, still haven’t tried chobiani!
    Good luck on the interview tomorrow!

  2. Oops to the coffee confusion!! Foods I have to have daily: apple and cottage cheese. Although the CC is starting to get old – I’m going to have to replace it!

  3. Uh-oh to the coffee! Not being able to sleep sucks!
    So much luck for the interview! Three rounds! Wow.
    There’s nothing that I absolutely have to eat everyday – actually I prefer to mix it up so that I’m excited when I go back to things!

  4. i used to go out to starbies with my friends at like 10 oclock at night and wonder why I couldn’t sleep at night.. ah the caffeine, gets ya everytime!

    good luck with the interview babe! you’ll rock it :)!

  5. ACK – coffee mix ups! I’m pretty sensitive to caffeine too.

    I go through food phases – where I eat the same thing for a while and then get sick of it and stop eating it all together. These days it’s almond butter – but this is one food phases that’s been sticking around for quite a while!

Leave a Reply

