Long Day; Lots of Food

Today was a looooong day -2 hour and 40 minute drive to CT, hour and a half interview, and another 2 hour and 40 minute drive back home to NH. My body was craving extra fuel today today. Perhaps all the thinking requires extra food?!

I got up at 5:45 so I could start getting myself ready. I had planned to get dressed, etc. and then eat breakfast around my usual time of 7, but when I woke up I was STARVING! So headed to the kitchen instead.

I put together and enormous bowl of oatmeal. I wanted to make my oats really creamy today, so I used 3/4 cup of oats, 3/4 cup of water, and 1/2 cup of soymilk. Mixings and toppings were the usual: vanilla, cinnamon, banana, 2 tbs of ground flaxseed, raisins, and walnuts.

blog 015

This was seriously the best bowl of oatmeal EVER! You can’t see it because of the toppings, but it was soooo creamy. I’m already thinking I may need to recreate this tomorrow.

Along with my super-delicious oats, I also had 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, scrambled.

blog 016

I had to leave at 9:30 this morning. Despite the big breakfast, I was already snacky before I left, so I had a plain Chobanimixed with Stevia and cocoa powder.

blog 017

I took some snacks for the road too. My interview was scheduled for 1:00, so I knew lunch would be late. Over the course of the drive there and the drive back, I snacked on an apple, an Apple Pie Larabar, and a cup of Cheerios. (I kinda wished I had skipped the Lara since it didn’t do much for me. One of these days I’ll learn my lesson.) There may or may not have been a couple Dunkin Donuts decaf iced coffees in there too. πŸ˜‰

My interview today went really well! I was in there for an hour and a half – much longer than I expected. I have a really good feeling about this one. I’m hoping to hear something by the end of the week. Thank you all for the good luck wishes!!

Before we (my mom and I) got back in the car to head home, we had a late, light lunch around 3. I had a grilled chicken salad.

I didn’t get home until about 6:30. I threw something together for dinner. I steamed a chopped zucchini and some onion and mixed it with ~1/2 cup of tomato sauce and a can of chicken. It was a bit unorthodox, but it was tasty.

blog 018

I was still hungry afterward, so I had a La Tortilla Factorywhole wheat tortilla and another Chobani.

By the time I finished eating and feeding baby, it was after 7. I was pretty wiped out from all the travelling so I bagged out on my exercise. Back to it tomorrow.

*******************************************************************

Today was one of those days when my appetite was bigger than usual. I used to try to deny the hunger on days like this and stick to the same number of calories I usually eat, but now I just feed the beast, so to speak. I figure that my body must be craving the extra fuel for a reason. Now, if I had several of these days in a row, that might be a problem. But one a week or so, not bad.

How do you handle days when your appetite is bigger than usual?

5 responses to “Long Day; Lots of Food

  1. I try to let it go or walk away, but then I always end up back in the kitchen looking for something!

  2. Ew to the long drive!! Sorry you had to go through that! However, I’m glad your interview went well!

    I’m the same way – when my appetite is bigger than normal, I go with the flow and figure it’s just that day.

  3. Fingers crossed about the job interview!

    Since I started eating bigger meals (i.e. around 500 calories) I don’t feel the need to snack in between, but if I am hungry, I eat! πŸ˜€

  4. usually when you appetite is bigger its just because you’re more active and your body needs more fuel! so, i try to listen as best i can πŸ™‚

    that bowl of oats looks incredible! and i’m so thrilled to hear the interview went well!

  5. Pingback: No Rest for the Weary « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

