No Rest for the Weary

I was so wiped out after my long day yesterday. I went to bed at 9 last night and was looking forward to a good night’s sleep. No luck there. Baby would not nap yesterday while she was home with my hubby, so as a result, her sleep was totally out of whack last night. She woke up every 2 hours on the dot. Isn’t it so weird how the more tired babies are, the less they sleep?!

Anyway… Sleepiness always leads to hunger. Needless to say I was ravenous when I got up at 7. Today’s breakfast was a repeat of yesterday’s enormous bowl of creamy oats and scrambled eggs.

Oh my deliciousness!

Oh my deliciousness!

blog 020

I took baby out after her morning nap. We headed over to my dad’s house and went for a lovely 2-mile walk with my dad. It was hot in the sun, but there was a nice breeze. I really needed that walk after spending most of yesterday sitting in the car.

While I was out, hubby called and said he didn’t have anything for lunch where he was working. That was my cue to pick something up! 😉 I got him a turkey wrap and I got myself a grilled chicken salad. I hadn’t been planning on eating while I was out, so of course, no camera. I need to learn to plan for the unexpected. In any event, the salad was unspectacular and unsatisfying. It was bascially just lettuce and chicken.

When I got home, a little after 1, I was still hungry. Lunch part 2 was my chocolatey Chobanimixture, a couple almond butter-stuffed dates, and an unpictured LTF tortilla.

plain Chobani + Stevia + cocoa powder = heaven

plain Chobani + Stevia + cocoa powder = heaven

I ate this x 2

I ate this x 2

Late in the afternoon I got a nice surprise – a Dunkin Donuts decaf iced coffee rom my mother-in-law. I’m pretty easy to please. 😀

For dinner tonight, I went vegan. I steamed some broccoli, green beans, carrots, and onion, then poured some ginger and soy sauce over them. I topped off my heap of veggies with some baked ginger-soy marinated tofu. I used Nasoya Lite Firm Tofu.

blog 023

I’ve been trying to have at least one meatless dinner per week. The hubby doesn’t particularly care for the tofu, but he’ll eat it. He did enjoy tempeh though, so I’ll probably experiment some more with that.

I worked it out tonight with Levels 1, 2, and 3 of Biggest Loser Power Sculpt. What a workout! The Biggest Loser DVDs totally kick my butt. The results are awesome!

After my workout, I gobbled up an apple. No time for a pic; too hungry!

*******************************************************************

As you’ve probably noticed, I’ve been drinking a lot of iced coffee lately. It’s clearly my favorite (non-alcoholic) summer beverage. My favorite summer adult beverage is definitely Sam Adams Summer Ale, although I haven’t had any this summer!

What’s your favorite summer drink – alcoholic or non-alcoholic?

8 responses to “No Rest for the Weary

  1. Iced coffee or Iced tea for sure! Alcoholic is pina colada or magarita!

  2. lemonade!!!
    doesn’t make sense to me either when baby’s don’t nap well they sleep worse…mine is teething right now which has not been fun!

  3. Fav summer drink is either Bud Light Lime (classy huh?) or a sour mojito made without the sugar.

    Dates stuffed with almond butter are the best!

  4. Your tofu dish looks fantastic!! I’m a fan of fruity, white wines in the summer – refreshing!

  5. my favorite summertime drink is the passionfruit iced tea from starbies .. ah, so addicted to that stuff

  6. Yes, that’s always the way… sleep begets sleep, as they say and I always found that to be true with my girls when they were babies. If they tired they didn’t sleep very well. It’s like they were too tired to sleep!

    I’m not sure I have a favorite summer drink! I do love lemonade but haven’t had much this summer.

  7. your oatmeal always looks soooo good! love all the mix-ins!

    my fave summer drank non-alchy is probably lemonade or somethin, but my fave alchy is a good leinies honeyweiss!

  8. Your dins looks amazing!
    Fave summer non-alco drink is iced coffee with soy milk and alco is a toss up between a gin and tonic and an Oberon beer!

Leave a Reply

