Wanna Be Startin’ Something

Ok, so the title has absolutely nothing to do with my post. I just have that song stuck in my head. I listened to a little Michael Jackson while I was riding tonight…

Anyway, breakfast this morning was a warm and delicious almond butter/banana/raisin rollup with scrambled egg/egg whites.

blog 001

I used up the last of my roasted almond butter in this wrap (and on a spoon!) this morning. Naturally, I had to crack open my new jar of raw almond butter right away to do a taste comparison. The verdict: I didn’t like it nearly as much as I likeLOVE my roasted almond butter. It was just ok. Perhaps it will grow on me…??

Which do you prefer – roasted almond butter or raw almond butter?

My morning snack was a Healthy Fit Mama standard – plain Chobanimixed with Stevia and cocoa powder. Delicious as always! The cocoa powder makes the yogurt even thicker, thus making it even more filling.

blog 002

After snacktime, I took a brief snooze on the couch with baby. We were both desperately in need of sleep today! She slept for about an hour; I only slept for about 20 minutes. Refreshing, nonetheless.

I headed out with my mom around 11 to go visit my prego sister at work and have lunch with her. We picked up Subway subs on the way. [Side note: I was absolutely addicted to Subway while I was pregnant! It was great because I could walk there and kill 2 birds with one stone – get some exercise and some food! I haven’t had much since my daughter was born though.]

I chose a 6″ turkey sub on wheat with lettuce, tomato, onion, banana peppers, roasted red peppers (a brand new Subway topping!), and vinegar.

blog 003

I got home around 1:45 and promptly took baby upstairs for a nap. She slept all of 10 minutes. Ugh.

I munched on 3 dried apricots and a couple walnuts in the afternoon while I was playing with baby. When she started to rub her eyes again, I took her upstairs with me where we both napped from 3:30-5:00. Ahhhhh!

I kept it pretty simple for dinner tonight – grilled chicken sprinkled with Montreal seasoning, and zucchini, yellow squash, and red onion sauteed in balsamic vinegar.

Believe it or not, I ate these veggies x 2! Holy fiber!

Believe it or not, I ate these veggies x 2! Holy fiber!

It was a battle royale putting baby to bed tonight. She was fighting the sleep big time. I got the job done though. Eventually.

By the time baby was asleep, it was almost 8. I really didn’t feel like exercising, but I forced myself to. I sweated out 35 minutes on my Spinning bike – and I’m glad I did. The more I rode, the more I got into it. It was good to work out some frustration.

Right now, I’m contemplating a glass of wine. I’ll probably skip it though. Too much effort to open the bottle right now. I just want to sleep!

Goodnight!

5 responses to “Wanna Be Startin’ Something

  1. Subway pregnancy cravings sound dangerous, I would go everyday! But I guess walking there was a good way to get in exercise and Subway is pretty healthy! You are so lucky to get a nap, let alone 2 in one day!

  2. I’m not too fond of the raw almond butter, it’s a little to sticky and grainy for me. It seems like it coats the inside of my mouth a little….so yeah, not a fan.

    Love naps, I wish I could take one every day. 🙂

  3. Subway totally hits the spot sometimes! I can see why you’d want it!!

    Those veggies look fantastic 🙂

  4. i’m not a huge fan of raw nut butters either — they just seem to be lackin’ something

  5. I love Trader Joe’s Raw Unsalted Almond Butter with all my little heart! I haven’t tried the roasted variety but I honestly have little interest at this point cos I’m so addicted to the Raw kind! Ha ha. Ohhh I love how we talk about nut butter like it’s going to save the world or something.

Leave a Reply

