Foodie Package Friday! (and Thoughts on Breakfast)

I got the most fabulous foodie package in the mail today! What a perfect way to end the week. More on that later…

The day started around 7 with a pretty standard breakfast – Banana Bread Oat Bran and scrambled egg/egg whites.

blog 005

blog 006

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but breakfast is always my biggest meal of the day. I tend to average between 500 and 700 calories each morning. That may sound hefty, but I’ve read a lot of articles recently citing research that indicate that people who get 20-50% of their daily calories at breakfast tend to eat less calories throughout the day. I’ve found this to be true for me. I average about 1600-1700 a day (yes, I still keep a food log at SelfDietClub.com), meaning roughly 30-40% of my calories are consumed at breakfast.

[You can read more about this here and here.]

When I was 30 lbs heavier, I frequently ate nothing at all for breakfast – or ate something very small, about 200 calories or less. Is it any coincidence that I tended to eat way more throughout the day? I think not! I’m naturally more hungry in the morning. (They don’t call it “breakfast” for nothing! You’re “breaking the fast.”) So, by not filling myself up when my hunger was at it’s peak, I just allowed  hunger to grow bigger and bigger all day.

What’s your biggest meal of the day?

Ok, back to today…

There was no morning snack for this mama. Didn’t need one. Breakfast did the trick. I was ready when lunchtime rolled around though.

I was craving more sweet stuff for lunch today, so I rolled with it. And. lunch was A-MA-ZING!!! I had raw almond butter, strawberry fruit spread, and banana on a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla, alongside ~1 cup of plain Chobani mixed with cocoa powder and Stevia.

AB+B+J=pure heaven! Where has this been all my life?!

AB+B+J=pure heaven! Where has this been all my life?!

Tub o' Chobani. Love it!

Tub o' Chobani. Love it!

blog 009

This lunch was such a perfect combination of carbs, protein, and fat – not too mention deliciousness! 😀

In the afternoon, I walked out the door to find a wonderful package waiting for me. Last week, I won Heather’s awesome 100,000th hit giveaway. Heather totally hooked me up! Check out these goodies:

blog 010

blog 011

Somehow this guy escaped the group shot!

Somehow this guy escaped the group shot!

Of course, as soon as I opened the package, I had to do some bingeing taste-testing.

  • First up: Barbara’s Peanut Butter Puffins. I have read all about these on numerous blogs, but I had never tried them before – until today. You know how sometimes you read about how great a food item is, and you’re dying to try it, and then it doesn’t live up to the hype? Well, this was NOT one of those times!! 😉 I have been missing out on these for so long. They are sooo addicting! I love the peanut buttery taste. I just ate them dry, but I can’t wait to try them in some soymilk. I’m going to have a hard time keeping my hand out of this box!
  • Next up: Blue Diamond Honey Almond Butter. As many of you know, I am newly addicted to almond butter. So I was eager to try this. When I opened it up, it was clear that this needs A LOT of stirring. So I stirred and stirred, and stirred – then I licked the knife clean. My thoughts – it almost tasted like marshmallow to me. I foresee a honey almond butter sandwich in my future!
  • Finally: Heather’s homemade brownies. I’ll keep this one short and sweet – Heather makes the most delicious brownies EVER! Holy chocolately yumminess! 😀

Thank you so much Heather for such fabulous giveaway!!

After my mini-binge, I thought it would be a good idea to sneak in some extra exercise. I took baby for a 30-minute walk. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – nothing works your glutes like walking uphill with a baby strapped to the front of you! 😉

For dinner tonight, I made the world’s largest grilled chicken salad. My ginormous plate included: grilled lemon pepper chicken, romaine lettuce, zucchini, red onion, red bell pepper, carrots, tomatoes, roasted red pepper hummus, and a generous amount of hot sauce. I think this may have been the most filling salad I’ve ever eaten.

I believe they call this a "Hugh Jass Salad" in the blogosphere!

I believe they call this a "Hugh Jass Salad" in the blogosphere!

Once baby was sound asleep in her crib, it was time for Biggest Loser Power Sculpt. I. Love. This. Workout. It’s a butt-kicker, but a good butt-kicker; a results-producing butt kicker!

I’ll leave you tonight with some giveaway news….

My girl Jenny is giving away some protein-acious products from Kay’s Naturals. Check it out!!

5 responses to “Foodie Package Friday! (and Thoughts on Breakfast)

  1. score on that package…woowoo! that salad looks good, and yes, i try and make breakfast my biggest meal. i need to feel full and satiated in the morning otherwise i am a crazy monster all day!

    happy weekend!

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  2. What a great package, I love peanut butter puffins and blue diamond almond butter! I totalyy agree with you on eating a bigger breakfast and lighter the rest of the day!

  3. Edible mail is the BEST! What a great package 🙂

    I don’t have one big meal – I prefer a lot of mini meals to keep me going.

  4. i am not a big meal kind of girl — i eat a lot of cals but i like to spread them throughout the day.. gives me something to look forward to more often 🙂

    awesome package – i spy PB puffins!

  5. Pingback: Timeout « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

