Timeout

I don’t know what is going on with baby, but she is NOT sleeping at night all of the sudden. To make a long story short, I am completely exhausted today and running on very little sleep.

It was cold this morning and I was looking forward to a warm, filling breakfast. Enter creamy banana oats and scrambled eggs.

blog 014

  • 3/4 cup of oatmeal
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened soymilk
  • 1 banana
  • raisins
  • vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • 2 tbs ground flaxseed
  • walnuts

blog 015

  • 1/2 cup of egg whites
  • 1 whole egg

Usually on Saturdays, hubby, baby, and I head out for our weekly grocery shopping. Today though, after a restless night and a morning battle with baby at naptime, I needed a timeout for my mental health. So I opted to shop alone. I needed the quiet time during the 1-hour round trip in the car. I was glad I took this time for myself, even though I was grocery shopping (which I actually enjoy). I returned a little more refreshed.

There was no need for a morning snack today, thanks to my oats and eggs.  I did, however, drink a cranberry raspberry Fuze Slenderize on the way home. I love these! Only 10 calories per bottle and they’re loaded with vitamins.

blog 016

For lunch, I kept it pretty darn simple – a chicken wrap with mustard and pickles.

blog 018

For dessert, I had 1/2 of the new Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar (I was nice and split it with the hubby). I have been dying to try this after reading about it on other blogs. I can’t find it around here. Lucky for me, this was one of the goodies in my package from Heather.

blog 017

Here’s what I thought: good, but didn’t rock my world. It was very peanut buttery, but the cherry flavor didn’t really come through. Oddly enough, it smelled a lot like a PB&J sammie. The flavor just wasn’t quite there. It was pleasant though, and I’d probably buy it if I came across it.

The afternoon was a big battle with my overtired baby over naps. Fun stuff. I refueled for the war with a couple dried apricots and the rest of my Chobanitub (~1 cup) mixed with cocoa powder and Stevia, as usual.

blog 019

For dinner tonight, I went with something different. I mentioned a few days ago I’m trying to get out of a dinner rut. I made baked haddock and wilted spinach. I chopped up some onion and garlic and layered it underneath and on top of the fish and topped it with some pasta sauce. I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. For the spinach, I wilted it in the pan with a little olive oil and garlic. A chilled glass of white wine completed the meal very nicely!

A mighty tasty meal!

A mighty tasty meal!

As tired as I am tonight, I really wanted to exercise – mostly for my mental health. I needed to work out frustration. I ended up riding Spinning bike for 40 minutes, broken up into 2 segments thanks to baby.

I’ve enjoyed a hot cup of hazelnut decaf coffee while I’ve been writing this post. Being tired gives me the munchies, and this was just what I needed to keep my mouth busy and wind me down. I’m off to the shower, then to bed – at 9 like an old lady! 😀

3 responses to “Timeout

  1. I love Fuze drinks, so tasty and some are good for you! Good for you taking some time alone, much needed sometimes!

  2. I’ve noticed the PBJ Laras vary on their tastes because the first one I had was perfect & the 2nd one was TOO tart (lots of cherries)!

    Glad you took some me time 🙂

  3. aw darling hope you get some sleep tonight!

    i loveeee those fuze drinks 🙂 have you ever tried the strawberry melon? it’s my fav!

Leave a Reply

