Sunny Sunday

I got much more rest last night! Unfortunately, though, one night just isn’t enough to make up for several nights of not sleeping much.

Anyway… I had a hard time deciding what to have for breakfast this morning. Totally unusual for me. I usually have breakfast planned out in my head the night before. I guess I had too much other stuff on my mind last night.

While I was hemming and hawing over breakfast, I ate ~1/3 of a Chocolate Brownie Clif Z Bar.

blog 023

Let me just say…HOLY YUM! This was the first time I’ve ever had this bar and I LOVED IT! It was such a treat. It really did taste like a brownie. Next time I’m craving a sweet backed good, I’ll get one of these! I bet it would make a great healthy brownie “sundae” with some Greek yogurt. Hmmm….

I finally settled on some cold cereal for breakfast, along with my usual eggs.

1 cup of Fiber One, 1 banana, raisins, walnuts, almonds, and unsweetened soymilk

1 cup of Fiber One, 1 banana, raisins, walnuts, almonds, and unsweetened soymilk

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I just hung around the house most of the morning. I was still in need of some relaxation.

I snacked on the rest of my Z Bar to hold me over until lunch. Cold cereal just doesn’t fill up my tum like my oats!

A friend of mine came over around 11. I hadn’t seen her since I moved back to NH last month. She hadn’t seen the baby yet either. We visited for a couple hours.

While she was here, I made myself some lunch. Today I had the best of both worlds – savory and sweet.

Savory:

chicken wrap with roasted red pepper hummus, lettuce, and hot sauce

chicken wrap with roasted red pepper hummus, lettuce, and hot sauce

Sweet:

Chobani + Stevia + Cocoa Powder

Chobani + Stevia + Cocoa Powder + small scoop of raw almond butter (tasty addition to my usual snack!)

medium banana

medium banana

Early in the afternoon, I decided to take advantage of the sunshine and the pleasant breeze. I drove over to my dad’s house with baby, and went for a 2-mile walk with my little sister (she’s 12). While we were walking our loop, we stopped in a Dunkin Donuts and I got a decaf iced coffee. (Yes, in our tiny NH town, out in the boonies, there is a DDs!)

When we got back from our walk, I hung out at my dad’s for a bit. I couldn’t resist having a tiny bowl of his homemade beef stew while I was there. I never eat red meat – I just don’t like it – but for some reason I can never get enough of my dad’s beef stew. Weird, huh?? It’s just so delicious!

I came home late in the afternoon and the hubby and I were both hungry already so I started prepping dinner around 4:30 – like an old lady! Ha! 🙂 I made one of my faves tonight – ground turkey taco salads. I spiced my taco meat with a mixture of chili powder, cumin, onion powder, paprika, and hot sauce. (I’m lovin’ the hot sauce these days!)

blog 027

I ended up adding a whole wheat tortilla on the side after I snapped the pic.

After dinner, we bathed baby and played with her for a while. Then I put her to bed, put on my workout gear, and headed to the basement for Biggest Loser Power Sculpt.

I got hungry after my workout so I wolfed down an apple.

I’m really going to try to go to bed early tonight. Last night I headed for the shower a little before 9 and I dawdled around so much that by the time I finally turned out the light, it was 10!

*******************************************************************

Question of the day: What’s your favorite meal/dish that your parents make??

I already mentioned how much I love my dad’s beef stew. I also love my mom’s pasta salad.

5 responses to “Sunny Sunday

  1. I still wish we had Dunkin Donuts in MN/IA! So jealous!
    My favorite dish is one my dad learned how to cook over seas: Bulgogi, it’s Korean BBQ

  2. theprettyproject

    I admire your willpower, girlfriend, seriously!!!

  3. My mom makes an amazing homemade pasta sauce. So spaghetti is my favorite when I go home!

  4. my momma makes a MEAN chicken pot pie.. ugh, i’m drooling just thinking about it!

  5. My mom makes this dish called stuff and all it is, is ground meat, corn, ranch beans, and onions mixed together. Combine it with a slice of corn bread and it is one amazing meal.

    Hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

