Walkin’ on Sunshine

Make that walkin’ in sunshine! I spent a lot of time outdoors today which helped me curb the snacking.

I got up at 7:30. I actually woke up at 6, but didn’t come downstairs until 7:30. I decided to change up my oats a bit. I didn’t really change what I put in them, just how I put it all together. I used 3/4 cup of oats, 3/4 cup of water, 1/2 cup of unsweetened soymilk, and lots of cinnamon and vanilla. No real change there. But, instead of mashing the banana, I just sliced it up and cooked it in; and instead of topping the bowl with raisins, I cooked them in too. I topped the bowl with some raw almond butter. (I skipped the flax today.)

blog 001

Unfortunately, this bowl was a bit of a letdown. It wasn’t bad, just not as good as usual. The banana flavor didn’t really stand out as much as it does when I mash it. And the raw AB got a little lost in there. The flavor isn’t as strong as the roasted AB. I think I may have put too much cinnamon in there, as well.

Anyway, I did enjoy my usual scrambled egg/egg whites!

blog 002

It was a gorgeous day today – very cool in the morning, but it warmed up to about 70. Late in the morning, I took baby over to the town I grew up in and walked a lovely bike path along the river that leads into downtown. I stopped and got a hot decaf coffee while we were out. I probably walked for about 45 minutes.

When I got home, I dawdled for a while before making lunch. I was so full from breakfast, I didn’t have lunch until after 1. Love it.

For lunch, I cooked up a chicken breast on the Foreman grill. I cut it up and put it on a whole wheat tortilla with roasted red pepper hummus, lettuce, and hot sauce. The warm chicken made the hummus wall warm and melty. Mmmmm!

blog 003

For dessert, I had my chocolate Chobani mousse (sorry baby; and sorry tummy!) and a few walnut pieces. Only 4 more yogurts left, then it’s back to 100% dairy free for me.

blog 004

blog 005

Late in the afternoon, baby and I went for another walk downtown with my mother-in-law. We walked for probably 45 minutes. While we were out, we stopped into this little bakery where I had a sample of rosemary olive bread (yum!) and a piece of a whole grain chocolate chip cookie (even more yum!).

I continued my effort to shake up dinner. Tonight I tried Light Life Tempehtations Classic BBQ Tempeh.

blog 006

I had planned to skewer these with some veggies and make tempeh kebabs, but unfortunately when I opened the package I discovered that the tempeh cubes are not nearly as big as they appear on the package and that the cubes pretty much fall apart if you try to stick a skewer through them. So instead, I cooked the tempeh in a skillet and just grilled my veggie skewers – red onion, zucchini, red pepper, yellow pepper, and orange pepper.

blog 007

This tempeh was delicious! The BBQ marinade was sweet and tasted homemade. I loved that the tempeh crisped up a bit in the pan too. I highly recommend this – and I would definitely buy this again!

Tonight was Biggest Loser Power Sculpt night, so I headed right to the basement after putting baby to bed. I felt so much more loose after last night’s yoga/stretching workout.

*******************************************************************

This afternoon, when I opened the pantry, I discovered a container of steel cut oatmeal. Apparently it’s been in there a while. I’ve never had steel cut oats and I was thinking about trying them, although the 30-minute cook time kind of turns me off. I need immediate gratification for my tum when I wake up! 🙂

Have you ever tried steel cut oatmeal? Did you like it?

7 responses to “Walkin’ on Sunshine

  1. Haven’t tried steel cuts oats yet, but will be interested to see if you like them and how you make them!
    Tempeh looks really good, I hope I can find it in Iowa !

  2. I like steel cut oats, they have a nice chewy texture. I don’t think mine took 30 minutes though…and if you have a crockpot you could do them overnight.

  3. I’ve been looking for that tempeh for the longest time! I’ve never had tempeh and I think that flavor would be a good introduction to it! I’m glad to hear you liked it 🙂

  4. I’ve never had steel cut oats. 30 minutes?! I don’t know that my tum could wait that long in the morning!

  5. never tried steel cut oatmeal — but i do highly recommend oat bran 🙂 so.dang.good!

  6. I’ve tried quick cook steel cut oats from Trader Joe’s before. They only take 8 minutes! I am not much of an oatmeal person in the summer though… so it will be a few more months until I eat it 🙂

  7. i’ve never had steel cut oats, but i think its good to make a huge batch then keep it on hand for the week!

    love tempeh – sooo nutty and delicious!

Leave a Reply

