Sitting, Waiting, Wishing

Today it’s a Jack Johnson song that describes my state of mind. Sitting, waiting, wishing…that’s me waiting to hear back about this job! It was a week ago yesterday I had my THIRD interview! Slow process… I really hope to hear something by the end of the week. The waiting is killing me!

I had an idea in my head last night for my breakfast, and I brought it to life this morning. I made 2 pieces of sprouted grain French toast with 1 tbs of almond butter and a mashed banana sandwiched in between. On the side I had 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, scrambled.

blog 008

blog 009

For my French toast mixture, I used:

  • 1/4 cup of egg whites
  • 1/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk (I would definitely cut this back next time. My toast wasn’t as eggy as I like it.)
  • a generous amount of vanilla
  • crapload of cinnamon

I will definitely be making this again! It was delicious! And I was so proud of myself for making something I don’t usually make for breakfast. How adventurous?! 😉

My hubby didn’t work today, so we enjoyed a nice family morning…except for the fact that baby was super fussy and not wanting to nap. 😦 I was already wiped out by 10:30 this morning.

Mid nap-struggle, I fueled up with some plain Chobani mixed with Stevia and cocoa powder, and topped with a few Peanut Butter Puffins.

chocolate + PB = delish!

chocolate + PB = delish!

We had planned to go out to meet a friend of ours from high school early this afternoon, so I made a quick lunch before we left – deli chicken with light mayo, mustard, lettuce, and pickles on a whole wheat tortilla, and a side of chickpea salad.

blog 011

blog 012

I saw a can of chickpeas in the pantry, so I whipped up a salad with red onion, tomato, parsley, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and pepper. It was pretty good, but it would have been better with fresh parsley instead of dried. I had to go with what I had though.

While we out visiting, I snacked on a Banana Bread Larabar. And late in the afternoon, after we got home, I had a small banana. (Love me some bananas!!)

Dinner tonight was simple grilled chicken with lemon pepper, grilled zucchini, and steamed broccoli. I used some Newman’s Own Light Honey Mustard dressing to dip my chicken in.

blog 013

I used frozen broccoli (as usual), but I got broccoli cuts instead of florets. Not a big fan. The bag is mostly cuts of broccoli stalks…many of which have an “off” taste to them (almost moldy tasting – yuck!). I’ll know better next time.

This evening, I worked out some tension with a sweaty 40-minute ride on my Spinning bike. I was glad I forced myself to do it even though I was tired. I needed the mental pick-me-up.

I was STARVING when I hopped off my bike!! So I grabbed a bowl of Fiber One with almond milk.

blog 014

Still hungry… I guess that’s not surprising though given all the extra energy I needed to give to baby today, plus the intense ride tonight. I’m sure I’ll munch on something else before bed!

*******************************************************************

Tonight’s question has to do with nut butter. I typically measure out my almond butter before I put it in or on something. I’m always afraid I’ll get carried away if I don’t, and then I’ll end up eating 3 servings in one sitting. I’m horrible at estimating…

Do you measure out your nut butter?

4 responses to “Sitting, Waiting, Wishing

  1. I am in love with Jack Johnson – and that song 🙂 and your breakfast!

    I do measure out my nut butters for dietary purposes (it’s part of my meal plan) and also to make sure I’m getting a FULL SERVING. When I wasn’t measuring I wasn’t adding a full tbsp to me meals – I want to be sure I’m getting all that PB goodness 🙂

  2. I don’t measure my nut butter portions, but probably should because I use alot:( It’s just too good sometimes!
    Praying for your job to come though!

  3. What a great breakfast and, as always, I need to try your Chobs concoction! I don’t measure my nut butter.

  4. I can’t allow myself to buy pb puffins anymore – I eat the whole box! Good luck with your job! I am a recruiter and I LOVE telling people they got the job! Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

