26.2: Marathon Post

Gear up for another marathon post! Here goes 2 days of food, fitness, and fun…

SUNDAY

I started my morning with a delicious breakfast of oat bran and scrambled eggs.

1/2 cup of oat bran, 3/4 cup of water, 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk, 2 tbs ground flaxseed, 1 banana, cinnamon, vanilla, raisins, and walnuts

1/2 cup of oat bran, 3/4 cup of water, 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk, 2 tbs ground flaxseed, 1 banana, cinnamon, vanilla, raisins, and walnuts

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

[Right after I photographed my breakfast, my camera batteries died. I didn’t replace them until this morning, so no more Sunday pics. :-(]

Late in the morning, I did something I hadn’t done in ages. I went running! We took baby out in the jogging stroller for the first time. It has literally been at least a year since I ran. I didn’t go far (only about 1.5 miles) and, to be honest, I couldn’t run the whole time. Going out for that run though reminded me that 1) I am sooo not a runner, and 2) just because you’re good at one high-intensity activity (i.e. Spinning) does not make you good at running. Running is a completely different animal.

We had plans to go over to my dad’s house for a family cookout, so I kept it pretty light for lunch – a whole wheat tortilla with 1 tbs of almond butter, a plain Chobani mixed with cocoa powder and stevia, and a tiny apple (from one of the apple trees in the yard).

I also tried the Tropical Fruit Tart Larabar. I’m sad to say that I have finally found a Larabar that I don’t like! This was too sweet and too fruity for me. Between the pineapple and the coconut, the flavor was just too much for me. I’ve never really been much into “tropical” flavors anyway, so I didn’t have great expectations for this bar. In fact, I’ve been putting off trying it. I took one small bite and gave the rest to my hubby.

We headed over to my dad’s house around 2. Lots of my aunts, uncles, and cousins were there. It was great to see everyone! So many of the people there hadn’t met my baby girl yet.

We were at my dad’s until shortly after 5. While we were there, I munched on shrimp cocktail, black bean salad, salad with mandarin oranges and almonds, TONS of roast turkey, and corn on the cob. I declined all offers for alcoholic beverages. I didn’t want to feel like crap again. So I stuck to decaf iced coffee.

There was no need to make dinner when I got home. Instead, I just had a small bowl of Fiber One with almond milk.

*******************************************************************

MONDAY – LABOR DAY

When I woke up this morning, I could not believe how sore my butt, obliques, and shins were from running (or attempting to run) yesterday! It really is amazing how differently you work your muscles when you run vs. riding a bike.

I hobbled downstairs and made a beeline for the almond butter. Breakfast was a warm almond butter/banana/raisin rollup with scrambled egg/egg whites and a small glass of unsweetened soymilk.

Forgot to photograph the inside of the wrap! Oops.

Forgot to photograph the inside of the wrap! Oops.

I’m almost to the end of my raw almond butter jar. Although the raw AB has grown on me, I’m looking forward to cracking open my new jar of roasted AB. I’ve missed it!!

It was freezing (not literally – but it was chilly!) so I downed quite a bit of hazelnut decaf coffee this morning, too.

I most of the morning lounging in my jammies. I felt the need for a snack around 10, so I had my very last Chobani. RIP Greek yogurt habit. I will miss you! On the upside, I will save about $7 a week on my grocery bill!

The usual mixture

The usual mixture

Lunch was eaten in two parts today. Part 1: deli chicken and roasted red pepper hummus on a whole wheat tortilla.

blog 003

Part 2: Banana-berry protein shake (1/2 small banana, 1/4 cup of frozen mixed berries, 1/2 cup of almond milk, 1/4 cup of OJ, 2 tbs soy protein powder)

blog 004

It felt very much like fall today. And nothing says fall to me like apples and cinnamon! I had a very fall/apple cinnamon afternoon…

My first afternoon snack was an Apple Cinnamon Clif Z Bar. I’ve enjoyed the other 2 flavors I’ve tried so I had high expectations for this one. It didn’t disappoint! I think I would have liked it even better though if I had warmed it up in the micro.

blog 005

Since we are drowning in apples from the apple trees in the yard, I thought I would make some cinnamon applesauce today. I cored, peeled, and chopped about 3 lbs of apples and threw them into a large pot with 1 cup of water and loads of cinnamon. I brought the water to a boil and them reduced the heat and simmer the apples for 20 minutes, stirring frequently toward the end. Then, I just took a potato masher and mashed up any remaining chunks of apple. Naturally I had to taste my applesauce when it was ready.

HOLY YUM!

HOLY YUM!

Can you tell I put in TONS of cinnamon?! 😀 This was sooooooo good hot off the stove. It tasted like the inside of an apple pie. I’m not a fan of pie crust anyway, so this is just as good as apple pie for me! I’m comptemplating putting some of this into my oat bran in the morning…

Dinner tonight was stuffed peppers with ground turkey, and a side salad. An excellent meal for a cool day.

blog 008

Baby took a late afternoon nap today so, consequently, she went to sleep about an hour later than usual. That also meant that mommy exercised an hour later than usual. By the time I finished Biggest Loser Power Sculpt it was already 8:30.

After I emerged from the basement, I went a bit nuts in the kitchen, quickly downing half a banana and numerous handfuls of cereal. Ooops.

*******************************************************************

I’m hoping to get a run (or run/walk) in at some point tomorrow. I really want to get better at running. I’ve always wanted to be “a runner.” I’ve had a goal in mind for quite a while to run a half marathon someday. It’s a lofty goal, but maybe I’ll get serious one of these days and start a training program…

What’s your lofty goal (fitness or otherwise)?

5 responses to “26.2: Marathon Post

  1. Too do more cross training! I love running almost too much, I go everyday for 6-12 miles and never stop or rest!

  2. Way to go with the run!! Your applesauce looks lovely – CINNAMON 😀

    Apples = fall, definitely! I can’t wait to go to the orchards!

  3. Congrats on your run! I always wondered how hard it would be to run with a jogging stroller?

    My fitness goal is to include upper & lower body strength training at least 2 days a week.

  4. honestly, i never thought i would be a runner, but its one of those things that slowly but surely, you get better at and gain mileage! ya just gotta keep going for it!

    my goal is to finish the marathon, which is coming up fast!

    mmmmmm cinnamon applesauce!!!

  5. Pingback: Meatless Tuesday « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

